You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Uh-Oh: Ohio is De-Registering People Who Haven't Voted in a While

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Well, people should vote... ha .

That said, this is bad, and I don't agree with it. I just sometimes think the way to combat this stuff should be two-fold. Yeah, challenge the very notion that people who haven't voted for a while could be registered, and challenge the notion that we need to check IDs at the polls because of nonexistent voter fraud.

At the same time, try to get people to vote, and maybe organize ways to get IDs to people who have difficulty getting them. That way, you come out head either way. I seems like the voter ID thing has been news for so long now that everyone who was opposed to it could've found a way to get an ID by now.

Just playing devil's advocate... :)

Sort:  

I live in a place where if you want a drivers license or ID you have 2/7 (read two out of seven) days to get it done with a piss poor window that happens to be shorter than the business hours at my job (they open after I do, and close before I do).

I just make food, people can cook them damn selves, they provide a legally required service (that would be even more required if voter ID was a thing), I can't do that for myself (legally), and there is a problem there.

I would agree with voter ID laws if they decided to visit every resident (not residence) once a year to offer FREE ID services from a mobile facility. It still seems like a ridiculous waste either way, and if you could take the whole operation with you the ID's would be ridiculously easy to fake.

Seems like a lose lose, because unless all of those voters come from one place, they are only basically giving a recommendation to various representatives (like the electoral college) that would get drowned out by legitimate voters, and even if they didn't all came from one place, it wouldn't be enough to swing national elections. Voter ID just seems like a weird thing to me, I don't undherstand how it would change anything, even if a 10% of every national election is illegal, it doesn't seem to change anything.

Then if you get into local, it would be extremely obvious if the population stayed the same but all of a sudden there were an extra thousand or so registrants that voted.

I understand you are playing devils advocate, but I'm trying to talk this out in my head, and still don't see a benefit aside from culling voters rights, and I thought we've done enough of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62