[3d Modeling] Designing the Steemit Valentine's Day Keychain

in #dtube6 years ago


I have really enjoyed using a variety of parametric 3D modeling software over the last couple of years, but one of the best in my experience is Onshape. It runs in your browser or in an app on your mobile device – yes, your cell phone or tablet. They update it very regularly, typically every three weeks. The hardware requirements are extremely modest, essentially being able to run on a potato because most of the heavy lifting is being done on the server side not on the browser client side.

Basically, it's just an amazing platform that you can use for free as long as you don't mind that all of your designs are publicly searchable, and for most of us being makers and tinkerers means that is no significant hindrance.

A number of people have asked if I would do a walk-through of some sort of design in Onshape as I have for Fusion 360, and I really, really wanted to, but just didn't have the right hook.

But then I realized all I really needed to do was pretend to be Bob Ross and do what is essentially a live stream of walking through a very simple, but interesting, 3D design.

I started from nothing, with no real plan aside from wanting to begin with the Steemit logo and the general idea of a Valentine's Day themed object, which is not the typical beginning point for people doing 3D parametric modeling. What ensues is far more of an artistic exploration, much like watching someone begin putting down sketches for a completed piece of visual art, and a very relaxed, casual exposure to a tool that you may not have spent time with.

I hope that you enjoy it, learn from it, and ultimately want more – because I had a lot of fun doing it and putting it together.

If the resolution on DTube is too low, you can watch the YouTube version of this video in beautiful 1920 x 1080 30 frame per second wonder.

Should you be looking for the Thingiverse link to print your own, you can get that right here:

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2750562

If you would just rather have someone else print one for you or you want it in 14 karat gold, 18 karat gold, or just a really nice translucent resin, I have your hook up over here at Shapeways:

http://shpws.me/PnMt

If you want to see more of this kind of content, be sure to let me know down in comments below. I am more than happy to provide.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

I'm more a fan of fusion360 but that's probably only because I know it better then onshape :) But i always want to see more 3D Design tutorials...

Most of my previous walk-throughs and tutorials have been in Fusion 360 because it truly is a fully featured, hard-core, really effective 3D modeler and renderer that you can get for effectively free if you're not using it for business, or even if your business is relatively small. It looks good, it handles well, and darn it – I just like it.

But if I'm honest, I have to admit that I prefer the parametric modeling in Onshape because it just feels better to do. It doesn't do surface or volume modeling particularly well; surfaces it can only do by extruding surfaces and not by directly manipulating them, and it doesn't do volume modeling at all. But what it does is amazing, and it continues to get better at what it does on an incredibly fast schedule.

That it can run on a potato is just extra points.

If you haven't tried it for yourself, go create an account on Onshape and start tinkering with it. I think you're likely to discover that you really enjoy it and find a place for it in your life. It won't replace Fusion 360, but it certainly might give you a place to start for certain kinds of geometry which you then export as IGES or STEP files to import into Fusion for other tools. I use the Fusion renderer all the time because it's just that good, but I often do it with geometry I've built in Onshape.

Give it a try, give it a poke, the only thing it might cost you is a few hours as you get sucked in and tinker happily.

I will, already created an account 2 weeks ago to download a model that I wanted to manipulate in fusion :)

Let me know if you need help with any part of it; one of the great things about Onshape is that it works really well for collaborative design.

Looks nice. I believe it's not allowed to use the new steemit logo for designing... Only the old logo can be used for designing.

Well, if anyone shows up to complain about it, I'll talk to them then.

Considering the variety of paid merchandise which is floating around, it can't be too aggressively being pursued. A quick check on both Shapeways and Thingiverse turns up a whole lot of material.

If anyone started making a hundred grand at a time, I suspect we would see some rather aggressive action, but as things are? Not going to happen.

Yeah, it shouldn't be a problem actually. But here you can read.He wrote about the new logo: https://steemit.com/logo/@steemitblog/the-new-steemit-logo-is-here

Yes, and if they do not pursue control over that logo, it falls into public usage.

And yet, it's been two months, several things have made use of the logo, and as far as I know no one has even received a request.

That doesn't mean that they won't do so in the future, but they haven't done so in the past.

It is one thing to make a declaration of a fact and another to actually pursue that declaration.

(I don't actually want to think about how hard it would be to pursue interdiction of usage of that logo for commercial purposes against someone outside of the US or northern Europe, where logo registration is, at best, a spotty thing. Though it would be kind of amusing to see.)

The best valentine's messager!
d.tube/#!/v/cryptonyte67/vwcxviqf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71