You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [3d Modeling] Designing the Steemit Valentine's Day Keychain

in #dtube6 years ago

I'm more a fan of fusion360 but that's probably only because I know it better then onshape :) But i always want to see more 3D Design tutorials...

Sort:  

Most of my previous walk-throughs and tutorials have been in Fusion 360 because it truly is a fully featured, hard-core, really effective 3D modeler and renderer that you can get for effectively free if you're not using it for business, or even if your business is relatively small. It looks good, it handles well, and darn it – I just like it.

But if I'm honest, I have to admit that I prefer the parametric modeling in Onshape because it just feels better to do. It doesn't do surface or volume modeling particularly well; surfaces it can only do by extruding surfaces and not by directly manipulating them, and it doesn't do volume modeling at all. But what it does is amazing, and it continues to get better at what it does on an incredibly fast schedule.

That it can run on a potato is just extra points.

If you haven't tried it for yourself, go create an account on Onshape and start tinkering with it. I think you're likely to discover that you really enjoy it and find a place for it in your life. It won't replace Fusion 360, but it certainly might give you a place to start for certain kinds of geometry which you then export as IGES or STEP files to import into Fusion for other tools. I use the Fusion renderer all the time because it's just that good, but I often do it with geometry I've built in Onshape.

Give it a try, give it a poke, the only thing it might cost you is a few hours as you get sucked in and tinker happily.

I will, already created an account 2 weeks ago to download a model that I wanted to manipulate in fusion :)

Let me know if you need help with any part of it; one of the great things about Onshape is that it works really well for collaborative design.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.60
ETH 3846.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51