Comic illustration and process video of goth pinup, Manku Geal!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hiya, @dtube and Steemit! I’m sitting down to make this art post with a pounding migraine, but post it I shall. It’s not every day I’m able to share comic book illustration, so this is an occasion worthy of pushing through a headache.

I believe warm ups are an important part of every illustrator’s development and workflow. I’m working hard on @coppercoins with @ghostfish, and before I begin sketching pages for that comic, I’ve been warming up with an hour here and there on this piece. It’s a somewhat Frazetta inspired scene, based on my friend Manku Geal […of gothic Instagram fame].

I later realized that my while references poses in Pinterest […I work on Procreate with a 12.9” iPad Pro, Apple Pencil, Procreate and split view with all reference photos and art on my second display], the initial pose I referenced is by concept artist, Boris Dyatlov […not initially credited, but brought to my attention on social media], so full disclosure, his work influenced this work, and he’s an outstanding artist.

Probably one of my favorite things about this drawing is that it wasn’t for anything. It wasn’t part of a project, or page. It was just for fun, and those occasions are when I seem to do my best work. I’ve included a time lapse process video, and here is the final pencil sketch. If the day comes that I can find time to ink this work, I’ll be sure to share it here.

Thanks for reading, watching and supporting my art here on @dtube and Steemit. If you haven’t already, you can follow @coppercoins, the horror anthology I’m working on with @ghostfish. You can also visit our @fundition page at Fundition - Copper Coins is a graphic novel horror anthology!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Damn now I know here those themes come from!
Nice! <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow! Awesome, beautiful, powerful, delicious... I just love every single detail of this piece of art. She looks so sexy and powerful. She's the one in charge. The skulls look pretty awesome too. It's perfect!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

a very wonderful comics my friend,beautiful art @kommienezuspadt

Hello @kommienezuspadt, how are u doing? It seems that you are very skilled at painting your comic artwork. The results look amazing. Maybe by painting you can get rid of your headaches, friend. You only need a more relaxed life. When I was little I like to read comics ..comics can indeed evoke the spirit of life and the spirit to fantasize. Have a nice day, sir.

.

I love this so much, Lars :) The pose might come from your references but I think you made it your own with this piece, and as usual, your line art!!!!!! YOUR LINE ART IS SO DELICIOUS I CAN JUST NOM THEM WITH MY EYES * ___ *

Love the shading and the detailing, very much. The skulls are so fun-seeming to draw and I kinda sorta want to see this inked, and hopefully coloured * ____ *

Hope your migraine will subside soon . __ . It is such a rarity to see you post your artwork and every time you do so, it is such a treat to my eyes :)

I have added both @coppercoins and @ghostfish to my follows now :D And I'm a noob at Fundition, but I think I backed it and sent it some steems???? If I didn't let me know and I will try again XD;;;; Sorry for being such a noob and a klutz with technology :3

ANYWAY!

Very awesome project, Lars !!! I look forward to seeing this become a reality ! :D :D :D

You are killer! I am enjoying so much your drawings and your huge imagination. That is something I respect most at good artist, huge imagination, and you have one.
Not to mention your delicate lines. It's always true treasure to see someone mastering good drawing.

I like it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow this is surely gothic, and to really imagine how long you took on just the tinniest of details is More than baffling, I mean the videoed process on dtube is so detailing and my favourite part was when you started putting in the deep line sketches to places like the chain and the skull it is definitely amazing wow and the fact that it's not for a project is even more baffling.
I see why you have a headache hahaha,
Boris Dyatlov ? Wow I didn't know him but well since he inspired this, I may check him out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28