Is Content Creation Past Its Prime?

in #dtube6 years ago


My first #ZNap.

I used to feel so excited to watch videos years ago. Do you feel like most people in the developed world have pretty much burned themselves out from videos/blogs/tweets/photos and are therefore less inclined to be genuinely intrigued by other people's content?

Perhaps people need to focus on having fun instead of creating content and can therefore reignite something?

Most people in the developed world have probably watched thousands of videos, blogs, tweets, photos, etc. I guess it just isn't as fresh as it used to be?

I used to LOVE watching rap battles. Now I rarely ever watch them because they aren't exciting anymore. I feel like everything that can be said has been said and you just don't see the passion anymore. Maybe that is the issue? Videos used to be created out of passion and excitement, but now it has become methodical perhaps?

Let me know y'all.

Thanks for reading & watching


Recent Posts


[YouTube Exclusive] Celebrating My Birthday at the Shangri-La!
Pimp Out Your Blogs With The Steem Graphics Pack! - Pay with STEEM - 30 SBD Giveaway - Affiliate Program
The Imperial Palace of China's Last Emperor
Is Learning Mandarin Chinese Difficult?
Could You Sleep on China's Overnight Train?
Kenan Goes To Eat a Fucking Pizza in China
My Ranking of China's Biggest Cities - For Dummies
Check Out This Really Boring Pagoda in China!!!


Kenan.png


Social Media


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That's a good question man.
A lot of people are leaving the centralized social media nowadays cause they know that other greater forces are stealing their personal data and use them.
People just can't understand that THEY share their personal data with these companies by uploading tweets,photos,vlogs blogs etc.

Now,about your question,my opinion is that YES,pretty much everything has been recorded or written in a blog BUT in centralized sites like FB or Insta.
The decentralized sites like Dtube,Steemit and a ton of other Dapps will bring a whole new level of creativity cause everyone will want to get some of that cash in the near future and in order to do so they MUST present their audience with something new and amusing.
I think our brain will start working in different directions once Dapps get a little more attention globally.
Sorry if my answer is not easy to understand.
I just want to say "New platforms=More creativity"
But it is also up to the platforms to offer people a new form of expressing them selves.
Just like it happened with Instagram and Insta stories.They presented something new and people loved it.

These platforms must not follow the path that the centralized media have given us,they must present us with some new content creation tools.
I am just bubbling I know hehe.
Have a good day man.

As of now, good and creative content is not what runs this blockchain. That might change in the future, but a lot of people that come here are trying to game the system and earn as much money with the least amount of effort. The blockchain improved a whole bunch since I first joined. There used to be so much spam and bullshit comments. DTube is finally starting to form a tight knit community of people that actually care about this place instead of fighting for upvotes.

When something is fresh, people want to use it to express themselves. When it is popular, trending and everyone is talking about it, people are inspired to do the best they can to make an impact. I think that could happen on a Dapp with good marketing.

Your babbling is inspiring!

I don't think so homie. It certainly does look like it on DTube, but this is something else

On YouTube you can see that audiences are at all time highs

And when Kimbo was active, we were way younger and more easily manipulated to invest load of our precious time on some entertaining content

Right now, its different... We are cryptopreneurs, entering a new era of abundance... And obviously we invest our time much more carefully and are much more aware when it comes to things like that 😎

#zap

Posted using Partiko Android

Mannn, you brought up a really good point about me being younger and more impressionable. I am going to make a video about that and release it tomorrow. That is such a good point and is something that needs to be brought up!

In some ways, I feel the same, but then I think of some of the content I consume and there are content that will always be fresh as they are made when an event happens. For example, being a football/soccer fan, I often watch a YouTuber's analysis on the game(s) or a documentary related OR watching conspiracy theory videos after the LA/Beverly Hills fire or other disasters etc. That content wouldn't have been created without such an event(s). Yet, there are lots of content creators that are re-creating, but ultimately I feel that is fine too as they are testing out and learning their new skills. In the end, it's up to the viewer to watch it or not, we all have choices to support or ignore.

Yes, maybe there needs to be a change in the way content is consumed...the gaming industry is taking a foothold on VR and AR, so why not content creation?! or possibly there is something else in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Some things stay relevant for a long time. I agree. For me, I don't really watch anyone's videos on YouTube consistently. YouTube has such a good algorithm that I usually watch many of the recommended videos now. They are good at recommending videos that I am interested in and then I go down their wormhole! However, I don't subscribe to most of the channels, but they sure know how to keep me watching lol.

3 hours later... After watching one video that was 15 minutes long! I know what you mean hahaha 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

100% agree whenever you look you see repetitive videos and contents.

Creativity now is limited by what we see, the human brain repeats what already exist & only the creative brains give new things.

I don't think it's done but we just need more outbox brain thinking you know what I mean we need to change our thinking way sueddeutsche we gets new things

Cheers and have a good day my friend!
=>zap

It happens all over the internet. People eventually want to get famous or something so they try tried and tested methods to do so. People stop making content they are passionate about but isntead create content where they look like they are having fun or creating drama but the love and joy isn't there. I don't think a platform like DTube is "fresh" enough to inspire people again. That can either come by changing the platform or by changing yourself.

No I don't think the problem is in the platform itself I'm sure it's up to the vloggers!

no, I don't think it's done. What I think needs to happen is more people need to be REAL. Be themselves. Honest. Open.

I'm older so didn't grow up on YouTube. I only go there to watch a few things. Okay sometimes I fall down a rabbit hole there and spend a few hours there but most days not.

What I Do love to see is a real person telling a life story. A real life story.

I watched your family777 video and loved how honest you were in there. What you could bring. who you really were. It didn't feel fake to me. From watching that and now this video I can relate to you more as a person even though you and I are from very different generations.

Just my thoughts
#zap? #snap? #zippy? :D #snookanswer

no, I don't think it's done. What I think needs to happen is more people need to be REAL. Be themselves. Honest. Open.

Amen to that. Being real with yourself unlocks new potential and creativity. I think when the thirst for success creeps in, people just follow tried and tested methods that bring success and money and over time, any platform becomes stale and superficial.

Thank you so much for this comment. I think authenticity is extremely important.

I think people just expect/need more to be stimulated these days. We are almost spoiled with how good editing and content creation can be. There needs to be a constant level of excitement to hold the viewer's attention.

The thing is, when I was younger, there was no YouTube. Everyone was watching TV but when ebaumsworld came along, I was obsessed with watching videos there even though the "quality" wasn't as good. Grainy videos were far more interesting to watch than shows on TV with production teams and all that. I don't think it is necessarily about editing. This guy PhilipsoloTV became popular overnight with very amateur videos that were really entertaining because of his personality. I think people eventually reach a point where they try to game the system as opposed to creating content for the love of it.

Well let's see if I can put my thoughts into clearer words. Maybe it's not editing per say but most videos nowadays will have quick cuts to different scenes to keep things exciting. I agree with how it was back in the day but now there is just so much more available. This goes for everything. Music. Movies. Books. Games. Even TV itself. There are more channels and options. Entertainment itself is saturated or overly competitive.

What do you mean by gaming the system? Just trying to make money from it?

What do you mean by gaming the system? Just trying to make money from it?

Yes. For example, fake pranks, lousy TOP 10 videos, drama channels, etc.

I agree that people generally need more stimulation to stay engaged. It is a natural process when you have access to so much in an instant.

I think you need to seek fresh areas of content that do excite you. I go through phases of what interests me. I looked at mountain climbing content for about a year and loved it, but now I rarely watch any of it. I've seen so much that it is not fresh or interesting.

But now I have a few other interests that I do follow. Most of them are SE Asian related since that is where I live now. I have way more content I want to see than I ever could see. There are not enough hours in a day.

Branch out and I think you will feel better.

#zap

That's very possible. I used to love watching rap battle when I was in my early 20s. Over time, it eventually became stale because I feel like I have heard every insult/line. Despite battle rap being bigger than it has ever been and having mainstream attention, I still feel it is stale and remember the "good old days." Sometimes I feel like social media will follow that same path unless something brand new is formed.

Rap battle was amazing

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, you used to watch Don't Flop, KOTD, URL, Grind Time, etc. ????????????!!!!

Nah must have missed those 🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, cause I was about to say... I never expected that you were someone that watched rap battles from those leagues when they were the shit hahaha. Haven't met someone with that same interest as me on here. Then again, I haven't asked anyone except you.

Ha yeah those rap battles were awesome, super well put together content

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree with you that it is over saturated. Now I think the bar is high on what peoples expectations are. At least if attempting to be full time content creator. Point of entry is a lot harder now. Creativity and thinking outside of the box will be what propels people with content creation going forward. It's more of an art now. Has to have emotional impact. Just my thoughts. I still enjoy getting to know people and hearing others thoughts. But I'm not a typical member of the normal viewing masses I don't think. I enjoy vlogging because it's a bit like a journal or photo album. I also enjoy trying to create art every now and then as well. I think there are still some content formats that haven't been discovered yet. Just got to keep the creative part in creation. Take care.

That's true. Or maybe we're just old and have seen and done it all. Perhaps it is teenagers that are the ones that always care about this stuff.

I'm not sure about you but I know I'm old. Old to the point I complain the the teenagers are not what they used to be and the the world is going to end when they take over. :)

Yup. You're officially old. That is the right of passage for old people lol.

I don’t think it’s past it’s sell by date for sure, I don’t think it ever will be. People will always have a need to share stories. I just think that now even cheap smart phones can shoot ok videos there’s a lot more content being put out, therefore a lot more shitty stuff shows through. That was part of why I wanted to see if I can post a video everyday for 30 days just to see what it’s like. It’s pretty disappointing to find that basically videos that take next to no time to make do better a lot of the time than videos that took a lot of effort. I guess that’s the darker side of content creation. Lots of people just take the path of least resistance because they are not into content creation, more rather the short lived internet fame than they are chasing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Content creation has always been like that. The most famous artists aren't necessarily the best. Monetary rewards and fame come down to networking a lot of the time.

Yeah I guess now I’ve stopped going on discord hardly ever I’ve slowed down on the growth front too 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fuck Discord lol

Yeah it’s good for some general chat but I feel it takes all the interaction away from where it should be, on the blockchain! 🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's weird how much people casually chat over there yet in here, they write 1 half ass comment and leave.

Lol yep that’s exactly my feeling on it 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, Kenan. I really do not know that many people are leaving social media, not in my spheres of friends. We are still excited about posting photos on Instagram and Facebook.

And regarding videos, to me, there are still exciting videos around. Just like some movies which are repeated many times but with new fresh actors and actresses, I still find them fresh.

So I guess it is the fresh look, fresh voices. And the major difference between YouTube and dtube to me is, in Dtube, there is real friendship formed. For YouTube, I really consume for purely entertainment.

And I don't even know did I answer your questions. But no, it is not done yet, there will be still be many new fresh contents that will get us stucked and want to watch again.
And again.

I watch music videos alot. And get never get enough of them. Lol... Travel videos.. Cooking videos...etc.

#zapp

That's the thing about DTube. Because everyone has a vested interest in seeing this place take off, we need to form real friendships and networks instead of just producing content. That is why it is important to know who your friends and enemies are here. It is different from YouTube where entertainment is the only thing that matters.

To me, places like Facebook seem dead. Less activity going on with my circle of friends. Over time, I guess people get tired of interacting as much. It is natural. I think that the platform or the person has the potential to unleash their inner passion and excitement to express themselves. Sometimes a new platform can do that and other times, it is the person that does it to themselves.

I guess I am just more selective as to what I watch and read these days. If it is about a topic that concerns me, I will probably consume it but seeing videos that have already been done to death will make me numb to that topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31