Do You Feel Homesick Easily?

in #dtube6 years ago


FJAKLJFSALKFASJLFA

Sup.

Every now and then I feel homesick in China. I don't feel depressed or anything, but living in this country has many advantages and whenever the downsides appear, I tend to miss Canada and how the Western world does certain things.

Ever been to a Chinese hospital? Jesus.

Check this video out to see what makes me feel homesick in China and let me know whether you feel homesick while traveling abroad. Is it mild? Moderate? Off the charts?

Thanks for reading & watching


Recent Posts


How to Make a Thumbnail That Doesn't Suck - Adding Text
Never Invest in Vaginas
There Are Too Many Old Farts On Here
Is Content Creation Past Its Prime?
[YouTube Exclusive] Celebrating My Birthday at the Shangri-La!
Pimp Out Your Blogs With The Steem Graphics Pack! - Pay with STEEM - 30 SBD Giveaway - Affiliate Program
The Imperial Palace of China's Last Emperor
Is Learning Mandarin Chinese Difficult?


Kenan.png


Social Media


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Agree with your points about feeling homesick when things go wrong. This is especially true for me when I run across really inconsiderate behavior (smoking in elevators, cutting in line, being obnoxiously loud). At the beginning of my time in China, I wasn't so homesick with the exception of Christmas time. Now that I live here longer, I find that I don't really mesh with Chinese people all that well. Even when I try to actively be friends with them. I feel like we have different values and because they are so worried about "face", they don't really open up. Not to mention half the things we do are probably viewed as crazy and reckless. Then again, maybe I haven't met the right Chinese people.

Spot on about the hospitals brother. I used to live up north in Jinan and every winter I'd get a nasty lung infection from the pollution. I dreaded going to the hospitals. Not only is there a lack of privacy but it seems super unorganized. We had to go up and down the elevators and then finally go buy our medicine...but wait it's lunch time so they shut down ALL of the pharmacy windows. Now I'm living in Hangzhou though and the hospital I found here isn't so bad actually. There is still the privacy problem and people barging in but I just ask the doctor if I can lock the door.

As a fellow expat living in China, definitely don't do a video on things you dislike here. That might just make you a target for some the more...nationalistic Chinese on the web. I think it'd be cool to see some videos with you interviewing Chinese people and/or expats with the same sets of questions.

Making friends with girls is a lot easier and they open up more. Or you can be like most foreigners and think your right hand is the only friend you'll ever need here.

Agreed. The girls seem to be a little more open-minded that's for sure. Some would say it's a language problem but I disagree. Most of the guys I meet are too full of bravado. On the other hand I do have a couple Chinese friends who are guys but they aren't like most of the men I meet here. Not trying to generalize.

What you talked about are very common problems we all have in China. Sure, we complain about it while we're here, but once we leave, we will reminisce about the good old times in China and laugh about all this nonsense.

Yep I'm sure there will be a lot I'll miss. This is one of the most convenient places I've ever lived. I'll be leaving in one months time so trying to soak it all in while I can. How long you planning on sticking around?

I'd like to make this my last year, at least in this city. All I can do is pursue what I want and see the result. I think I have stayed in the same job for long enough.

Lol nice thumbnail on this one haha. Yes, pls use your phone, show others you don't need professional cameras to vlog. I'm going to be doing a cross country tour in the future and I find myself watching another one of your videos because they are damn useful man. I've been thinking a lot about homesickness when I'm on the road. Good stuff. Someday I'll be there.

Thanks yo. One of the biggest reasons why I didn't want to record vlogs outside is because of my camera. It is awkward to hold a Sony a6300 in front of your face and the thing doesn't even have a flippable screen to see yourself in the frame. After a couple minutes, my shoulder would start burning from holding it out so far for so long. You have to then set up the lav mic, turn the camera on, turn the Zoom H5 on, sync the audio and then finally you can start talking. Too much of a hassle! With my phone, I can plug the lav mic directly into the headphone jack and start recording immediately with a selfie stick to hold it.

Good luck on that cross country tour. Make sure you show us all the women you've slept with on that journey!😂

Lol. Subtly, maybe I will. Phone cameras are getting so good, the investment costs of a camera, plus gear and lens,' just isn't as appealing to me. I do plan on having a camera system and a gopro in the vehicle for the tour, outside of that, I'll only be using my phone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Smart guy. Smart guy.

I'm home now from China, while I was there I would occasionally want to go back home but now that I'm hear I tend to find it a bit boring. The thing about China is that the chaos while at the time is frustrating I think it is something I also on some level enjoy.

Oh God yes. Boring!!! It only takes a few days to a week to realize this. Lots of Chinese people complain about Canada, USA, etc. being too peaceful and quiet. They need more noise and crowds. I can see where they are coming from. The chaos and narrow streets really has a way of uplifting the energy.

I am Canadian too, and left about 40 years ago (I'm an old fart). I do not miss it one bit. I fled at 19. But the few times I've been back I realize it is "home" no matter what I want to think.

I'm in Malaysia now and do feel something like homesickness, but I do not know where I would go to solve that. So it's just onward to see what is around the next corner.

Why don't you miss it? Canada is a great country.

I never fit in and it is too cold in weather and in people. I was doing a consulting gig here - helping people to get their docs together to move there and I could barely stand it. The family life in SE Asia is so much better, with better support. Why they want to leave here and go there is beyond me. But they wonder why I am here...

I did not like it there even when I was a little kid. Hockey, beer, snow, mosquitoes, and hating on the states is what I remember. My brother is there and will never leave. He hates everywhere else and loves his health insurance. We do not agree on very much of anything :)

You're right. The lifestyle you have in Asia is usually much better than back in North America. The downsides come in when you face problems, like I mentioned in my video. I don't know what Malaysia's health care system and things like that are like. Is it any good? How about the political and immigration situation? Those are reasons why people leave their home country and move to the USA or Canada.

In your day to day life, Asian countries are usually more interesting, but when it comes to certain issues, you will remember why countries like Canada are so great.

I don't like hockey either. I am an odd ball like you (but not as much of an old fart as you yet😂). Canada is quite cold too. I never miss the cold in Canada.

I'm not too up on health care or immigration here. I pay zero attention to politics or news in any country. Only now I look at crypto news :) I'm just doing my weight loss coaching thing no matter where I am and always live in a local neighborhood - no tourists - just me and whoever else lives here.

I get any drugs I need from the pharmacists for cheap and quick. I was in the ER for dehydration in a Bangkok hospital for 6 hours once. $45 usd and I was all fixed up. I was in a public ward that was fine and I got good care.

What certain issues do you feel are better over there? I cannot think of anything. The bad food supply, high prices, and the police state were why I left California a few years ago. But I have not been to Canada in years. I think the last time was 1994 for a couple of days and I was glad to leave.

The people leaving here were either going for money and better opportunity or they had a dream of the place being good. I only told them the good stuff as much as I could think of.

It's hard for us as one way it's great to see new cultures and learn, but in another way we miss home because its home. Home is where the heart is, right? It's more of a lifestyle and memories thing rather than certain processes like you say in your video. Obviously, it's going to be different with different bureaucratic process. It's a headache, but everything is an experience in life. Just have a little chuckle to yourself 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, not taking things so seriously is paramount to living aboard successfully.

Well the cap that you had wear looks really very funny on you😁😁 but yes you also looks very cute in it😊😊.

Well I hear some of the internet issues about China it's that they had their own kind of website something?. But yes that's why I like VPN because it really solves that issue😊😊.

Aah, the hospital problem you shared I think most of the country faced that really we think that it's the hospital it should be 100% perfect well but as we know everything is not perfect 😁😁.

Let me tell you that I really enjoyed watching your video 😊😊, well I really don't bother about the time when it comes to watch your video :)

Talk soon :)

Have a great day and wonderful night 😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That hat is quite the attention grabber. It works well with the ladies too.

China blocks most of the websites and apps including facebook, youtube, instagram, twitter, etc. Fortunately, DTube still works ha! One reason why they do it is so that they can copy those apps and make their own homegrown version that will boost their economy. If those apps weren't blocked, Chinese people would use them more than the Chinese version in my opinion.

Aah, the hospital problem you shared I think most of the country faced that really we think that it's the hospital it should be 100% perfect well but as we know everything is not perfect

You can say that again...

I really appreciate your comment man. Seriously. If you really don't look at the time when watching my video on Steem, that must mean I am doing something right by taking your mind off making money here lol. You're like my little Indian brother😏.

Take care.

Yeah 😊😊😊.

Well I think that's the reason that China have strongest economy 🤔. Well but don't tell about VPN to them😂😂

Wait, wait those lines means that I really love your videos 😁😁😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh they know about VPNs alright, but they are always trying to make them inoperable. VPNs can be unreliable in China and the companies have to constantly find ways to bypass them. Just a couple weeks ago, my VPN was down for a week. Fortunately, the company was able to find a solution but I still get dropped connections. It is the most negative part of living here IMO.

Wait, wait those lines means that I really love your videos 😁😁😊😊

I know I know hahah! Appreciate it!

😂😂 haha I just can pray that they should make it legal 😁😁

Thanks a lot buddy :) :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72