Let Us Get To Know You: Why Steemit Rewards Authenticity

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

let-us-get-to-know-you.jpg


Are you ready to let us to get to know you? When you are, you'll grant yourself a license to share freely. Because there's no reason to hold yourself back, when the goal is to let us in.

If you're anything like me, you've been conditioned to hide the parts of yourself that others might make fun of. This three minute video touches on how that habit of hiding makes it harder to create, and explores how a willingness to share authentically actually makes it easier for us to stand out and reach an audience. Plus I describe the unique aspects of sharing on Steemit and dtube that end up making it a bastion for authenticity and self-expression.


I tried to integrate some levity into this video after watching @axios latest video, an homage to his grandfather. If anyone has any ideas on what I should try next, or what worked and what didn't, I would love the feedback!




Recent Videos:

surrender-to-a-better-you.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey Josh, great advice! I'll work on it. So far it's hard to get used to talking to cameras when I'm by myself. Maybe I should stop thinking that I'm by myself.
Can I ask you something here: When I upvoted this video, the $ amount didn't increase. What can I do to make my upvote count?
And something else: I can't comment in d.tube. Is that a known problem?

Hey @srangel. Great insight and good questions!

Maybe I should stop thinking that I'm by myself.

A common technique is to pretend you're talking to a friend and just converse as you would normally. That way you act and feel more normal, plus you've probably been talking to friends your whole life so you have a ton more experience in front of friends than in front of the camera, so if you can successfully get in that "talking to a friend" mindset you will realize you're much better at this than you thought!

When I upvoted this video, the $ amount didn't increase

Steemit pays you out on a post after 7 days, so any votes on content or comments 7 or more days old won't change the dollar amount. So sometimes what I'll do if I want to upvote someone for old content is just check out their newer stuff and upvote something <7 days old. Or you can comment on their post and upvote their response (since that's less than 7 days old). Hope this helps!

I can't comment in d.tube. Is that a known problem?

In order to comment on a dtube video you have to login to dtube. What I do to get around this is just comment on the steemit post (and it automatically cross posts to dtube). In my experience I end up needing to re-login to dtube fairly often so it's easier for me just to comment on the steemit post instead.

Thanks for your answers, Josh. Don't know why I didn't see this sooner. Maybe because I've been in and out of the hospital.

No problem! Hope you feel better soon!

Thanks for sharing <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63