Should I... move into a van?! - DTUBE DAILY #61

in #dtube6 years ago


Hey everyone!

In today's video I want to raise the question... should I move into a van?!

I've been wanting to get a home on wheels for years now. I wanted it and felt a pull towards it even before I started traveling abroad, but I knew it was something I wasn't going to do for a few years. Well... the time has come! At this point I 100% plan to be moved into a van by the end of next Spring.

I know... that's quite a ways away, but I don't have the finances for it at the moment either way. Now, if SBD blows up again, that story will change real quick. xD But as of right now, I'm moving back to South Dakota in a week, where I plan to find regular work, and then I'll be saving up to convert into van life by next year. (I also plan on going to Europe between that time)

There's a ton of research to do, and I want to be an expert on this stuff before I even get started, so the time cushion is actually quite nice. It gives me room to breathe and I know there's enough time where I don't need to obsess over it in order to acquire all that knowledge.

I plan on learning slowly exactly what I need to know up until the point I can buy my van. Also, if the right deal comes up for a van that's already converted, I'll definitely consider that as well. But doing the actual conversion sounds like a ton of fun (and challenging), and I kind of want to take that on.

Do any of you live on wheels?! Let me know in the comments below!

Hope you all enjoyed my thoughts for the day, and we'll catch you back here for the next one!

Peace!
Jordan


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey Jordan. Do it Do it Do it. My partner and I lived in a van for 2 and a half years, we went through all parts of Australia with it. We used it as our permanent residence on a piece of land we had. Get onto youtube and have a look for a guys channel call Bob Wells. He does interviews with folks living on really tight budgets living in all kinds of things, you may get some great ideas from there.
A lot will depend on where you are, if you are travelling or staying put etc. I can tell you that everyone changes things over time so don't be afraid to start and work on it from there. Also, if you see vanlife folks around, stop and ask them about their set-up. They will tell you what they wouldn't do and that is usually the most useful information.

Best of luck, keep us informed of your progress.
Cheers from Western Australia

That sounds amazing! I'll check Bob out! And those are some great tips! Thanks so much!

The lack of space can be the thing that breaks the deal for you. Start cheap and work up.

Good tip! Thanks!

Great talk as always. Not sure what kind of input I could give on this subject. I'd say, cleanliness is the toughest hurdle for myself when it comes to this lifestyle.

It's not hard to stay clean, especially if you're not moving around much. :)

I hope you find the right van for you. Living in a mobile home sounds awesome to me. Maybe one day it will happen for me too.

My brother and sister in law are converting a skoolie right now. Can't wait to get my set up rollin! I could see you rocking van life Dave. :D

@jordanpike Yes, do it! I am working towards the goal of a bus RV made to my own specs. A Skoolie conversion! It is certainly a more conscious way of life. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93