The Dtube Book Review - Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon

in #dtube5 years ago


A few months ago @NathanMars recommended a book to me by Austin Kleon called 'Show Your Work'.

It was...Epic! And got me following Austin on a bunch of different social media platforms. Recently he announced that his brand new book 'Keep Going' would be released....

Of course, the book stores in my city aren't carrying it yet, so I did the next best thing....I bought his previous book 'Steal Like An Artist'.

This was a fascinating read! And don't worry he isn't suggesting that we go out and hold up a corner store....He's talking about finding ways to be creative by learning from amazing people!

A quick book to digest with plenty of take away points....I hope you enjoy the review and please do, leave a comment below so I can upvote you and some of my favorite comments will also receive a @SteemBasicIncome unit!

I appreciate your engagement!


New to STEEM?

We've got the perfect welcome wagon ready to help you on your journey....

=> https://www.steemsavvy.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Such a good post, Jon. #nuggets

thanks tish. appreciate it. glad you liked it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

“Don't just steal the style, steal the thinking behind the style. You don't want to look like your heroes, you want to see like your heroes.” “You have to dress for the job you want, not the job you have, and you have to start doing the work you want to be doing.” “Nobody is born with a style or a voice.
Austin Kleon

he’s got tons of great nuggets for sure :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mentorship cane to mind when listening to you as a great learning in my life was to assimilate the traits that made many leaders I have worked with that have made then successful! I recall being in meeting and just listening with not talking and they were often when I learned the most!

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah man. i try to soak up everything i can. no matter where i learn it, there are lessons everywhere.

Posted using Partiko iOS

How do you manage to find time read a book a week with all the other stuff you do for the community?

Posted using Partiko Android

at night. when i’m in bed. i spend at least an hour reading :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

STEAL LIKE AN ARTIST ! Another book i think dude you are spending good time with your books . Good one.

Posted using Partiko Android

ya man. very enjoyable. loved reading it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanx for sharing these nice kinds of books. They improve our character and inspire us a lot.

for sure. glad you enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is one of the books on my own wish list.

Posted using Partiko Android

it was really good. and short enough to not put you to sleep lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

literally the saying “Be the change you want” is so cliche that most won’t follow it but it's such a powerful statement.

agreed. it’s literally the difference between success and failure. so simple. yet no one takes action

Posted using Partiko iOS

on a side note, is there any real benefit to earn Partiko points? besides the obvious of using the points for a upvote

upvote is the big one. but they were supposed to do an smt.

LMAO! Toodles - that was epic lol. Anyways, I love the fact the book pointed out about keeping simplicity in our content that we put out on the blockchain. That is SO true. I can be kind of a "perfectionist' with my videos & tend to overthink the details. I am always tweaking them & this is a great reminder to make it more approachable for viewers to use and watch.

Well, I think you just had me add a few more books to my bucket list lol. Time to hit Barnes & Noble soon! ;)

there is huge impact when we keep things simple. i think it’s something we need to all try to build in our businesses and content.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely! And #SteemSavvy helps with that! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Great job...i can barely read my textbook for school lol

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ha ha man school textbooks would put me to sleep lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Is it on audible? Hope so..I could listen at work instead ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

should be. pretty sure it is.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64172.98
ETH 2764.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66