I have tried to use DTube, but it seems uncooked yet.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube7 years ago

I am huge fan of Steemit and I believe in the potential the Steem blockchain brings to us. So recently I have heard about this new video paltform, DTube.video, a "descentralized Youtube", so I gave it a try

While I do like the idea and I do like, no, actually, I mean I LOVE the idea! And I also like a lot the simplified design, it seems that it has a lot of work to be done. Of course it has, it is a new platform.

A few turn downs for me are:

  1. big videos lags the computer and load slow, not sure if this happens only to me, but I have kind of the same problem on Steemit, when I open a very extensive thread with thousands of replies things get very slow (and my computer is an i7 4800hq with 16gb of ram!)

  2. no categories to find videos that interest me, what I like on youtube is to surf from video to video and waste my precious time, DTube will get much more traffic when it implements video categories and recommended videos, then people will start to spend a looot of time in there

Overall it is a usable platform, but only when I know what I want to see in there, not when I just want to waste some time like I do on youtube.
Hope it keeps growing and improving anyway, the developer seems to be very committed!

Sort:  

good post. follow me @goga

I have the same problem. I find Dtube is quite slow. YouTube just works. No wonder it has a monopoly.

I was trying to upload a video for like 4 hours yesterday and finnaly gave up.
I believe that it has to do with IPFS video storage,the system is essentially peer to peer(like torrents)and maybe it would work great with more users(like in the US),but here in europe where there is hardly anyone on it ,it's reaaally effin slow.

Ha, "Uncooked" - I like it! Same here in the Philippines... sloooow! Right this moment, I am 2+ hours into a 6 minute video upload, and only about 65% complete. If I suffer a brown out... I'm finished and WILL NOT start over. Come on Dtube... put some overtime in and get it right! Ya'll got this far, don't quit now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43