Apparently, I'm Too Stupid to Figure DTUBE Out! I Need Your Help Steem Community

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

To date, I have successfully uploaded 9 videos to Dtube. Each experience is a little different. Sometimes they load on the first try, sometimes it takes several tries. THIS, to me, is VERY frustrating and wastes a LOT of time.

I WANT to use a decentralized video hosting platform but am met with resistance every step of the way. I've uploaded them straight from a rendered MP4 file and I've done the Handbrake compression method.

I tried uploading my last 4 youtube videos and was met with some "missing posting authority ${id}" error.
Here's a screen shot. Look in the lower right hand corner for the error in a red box:

Here's a closer look at that "id" error that keeps me from uploading:

Much time has been wasted trying to do and redo. Others seem to be having no problems. What am I doing wrong?

My browser is Firefox.

Sort:  

Are you using your Posting Key? If not, go to your Steemit settings and get your private posting key. Ideally, you should only use your posting key and then log out of DTube and log back in with that. Don't use your master password that controls all your keys. Get a password manager like 1Password and store all your keys there. Only use your active key for transfers, exchange buys/sells, voting for witnesses and the like. If you're logged in with your posting key only, even if you get hacked, your wallet is safe. You can also hit up @heimindanger in the steemit.chat and he may be able to help you out. Good luck!

YOU are the man! It worked! I just uploaded one of my latest videos to DTube using the posting key! I really appreciate your help, Luke! 100% upvote for your comment!

Excellent! So glad you got it working. We need more decentralized options beyond YouTube. Glad you stuck with it to get it working!

Hey Brian, I've also had a lot of issues uploading to DTube. I entered the Open Mic Contest last week and the judge said the video wouldn't play so I guess I wasn't in the contest.... Bummer!
I've managed to upload to DTube when: 1) my connection is good. 2) I wait for the video to upload completely before typing anything or adding a snap. 3) Wait for the snap to upload completely before typing anything.
Hope that helps! Otherwise, what about Vidme?
Thanks for your awesome videos and research! :-)

Thank you! I'm pretty sure I've done that but I'll give it another go. I hope they fix these issues.

I can't figure it out either...they need a little tutorial maybe. YOUTUBE is so good....too bad it's being used for EVIL!...lol...

When you login to Dtube make sure you select "keep me logged it" option. Otherwise it logs out very quickly. Hope that helps. Love this blog, since I've left YT it's nice to comment on your vids again... lol...

Thanks for the tip. Yeah, I made sure that was checked. So, that's not the problem. Man, I want this to work so bad...but it's not cooperating.

It has been a nightmare for me. Got me a new GoPro and having a hell of a time getting a 10min videos posted. I've compressed with handbrake and no luck. They just updated some stuff so maybe it will work better now. IDK but I feel your pain. Granted I don't have as many vids as you but I wouldn't like to get started somewhere. good luck. Keep up posted on any tricks you find.

Congratulations @highimpactflix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey Brian
A little off topic, but the last three videos of yours on YouTube play with ads up front.

Tim Poole posted a bit on YouTube demonetisation of historic videos. His theory, and while only a theory, may make sense.

The content available to YouTube has increased, and continues to do so at an exponential rate. YouTube, buy demonetising older videos achieves two things.

It reduces the pool of videos, therefore available views, therefore artifically inflating the cost of a view

It rewards YouTubers who make new content, rather than continuing to pay inactive channels, who have enough recurring income to have a "lifestyle"

I am more of the mind that it's to do with the M5M moving in on YouTube's / Google's and The Facebag's advertising dollars.....think about it...why are they going after Zuckerberg, this was shortly after he made an announcement about a partnership with big pharma to line up suitable human guinea pigs for drug trials. Big Pharma $$$ are the lifeblood of the M5M.....and it takes out a potential rival for HRC's next run.....just a theory.

Something to watch out for. Best bet for people like yourself is the Value for Value model and have your audience support you directly. No one can then tell you want to say or not. Then again, audiences are fickle and many are freeloading douchebags...like me ;-) But I hope what I say is of some value.

At least you're doing better than the typical podcaster ;-)

Peace

Thank you very much for this post, it happened to me exactly the same and I made the comments and it worked !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44