Dtube Thought: My Genuine Fear Of Upvotes/This Is The Time To Double Down On The Creative Process NOT The Money | Vlog 76

in #dtube6 years ago


Decentralized social media is coming.. It's coming in A BIG WAY

But human behavior isn't going to change. Money does a funny thing to people. No matter what platform comes into the playing field.. The money will always bring up emotions like fear, hate, and jealousy.

With a Platform that's designed and marketed as 'Making money for your content'... I fear

I fear that people will solely focus on that and not the creative process. The hustle, the GRIND that comes along with trying to get your name out. I think this is why I still like facebook and youtube. Just the other day, some was telling me the story of Allen Walker, when he was just starting out, he would go on every youtube video and be the FIRST comment to get people to click on his youtube channel.

THAT'S what I freaking love about the creative process. The Grind. The not so sexy parts of creating content.

I also fear the creative process of having an idea, and creating it because you just genuinely want to create something really cool will be affected [for the time being] on steemit because people know what will make them money.

As I've started succeeding on steemit thanks to @dtube, I think I'm taking the PLEDGE to double down on the Creative Process.

Because I love it too much.. that's what got me to not get an engineering job and make videos 3 years ago.

final thoughts:

grateful for the creative process


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

awesome job man....watching your videos is one of the reasons that inspired me to make the full time move!

dude I saw your video on that. Just want to say I'm proud of you dude :) super pumped to see where this goes for you :)

Creating content is definitely not easy. I have friends who look at my videos and they want to start a Dtube channel and I thoroughly warn them it's gonna be really hard to sustain yourself. Forget about the first few months, if we can't set a strong foundation of workflow, we'll all burn out of ideas.

Lookin' fresh again! Phuket has done you well.

exactly man! haha Yeah it's crazy, all I've done is get an extra hour of sleep and comb my hair LOL

Upvoted with #respect brotha.

I was just thinking this exact same thing and planning on making a video about it! Brilliant. Thanks for the share.

Yeah, I'm happy you see this as well! Creating things should be a fun thing. Never done for money.. :)

Upvoted you for your genius.

I agree, man! I've been a starving artist for a LONG time. At one point, homeless in the streets of New York City while I was studying at the New York Film Academy. Personally, I believe if you follow your passion and develop your skills, goals will be reached. #preach #brotha #onelove

Wow Man! That's An amazing story :) it probably makes you a better story teller

Yeah man! I love the pledge. Taking the creative risk! I’m with you.

heck yeah! The creative risk is the meaning of content!

Interesting and thought-provoking. I think the transparency of earnings could in fact be a disincentive for newbies. I hadn't thought about that. Kinda like, well, I'll never get there so I might as well not bother. I think that way sometimes when I see young folks like yourself killing it on the Internet with your content, but I try and get past that and usually succeed. I enjoy making music and videos - I have been doing it for a while, so rather than get caught up in how I never 'made it' when I was doing guitar forum stuff back in the early-ish days, I try and focus on what I can do today and enjoy it.

Anyway, not to make this about me or anything - I've just found your channel and love your content. I already recommended your channel to a friend of mine whom I think your content will inspire. And so it goes around.

Thanks!

Hey man! Thank you so much for the comment :) you already have the mindset to win :) and thanks for sharing this page to your friend. Super grateful :)

No worries. I saw my friend again last night and he apologised for not responding, the reason being that he got caught up in your videos and by the time he went to respond it was 4 a.m. and he didn't want my phone going ping! He's super intrigued by the platform too, which is great.

Looking forward to following along as you take your creative journey :)

Thanks my man! :)

awesome video

harshil,

Thanks for being transparent. I just started doing videos on DTube and am just starting to learn the ropes. Your sharing inspires others like myself and makes us aware of the pitfalls, challenges and concerns. I like the creative process myself as well. While like everyone, you want your content that you put your heart and soul to resonate with every viewer, the reality is that it doesn't. Sure, you may have haters, and people who are jealous of whatever level of success you have, but that is their problem, not yours and mine. I like steemit, because it takes out the "middleman". Instead of Youtube and advertisers making a lot of money for "your content", you get to keep your "creations" revenue to yourself. Isn't that the way it should be? I am excited about the future and have upvoted this video and clicked "follow". Keep going forward, and never look back, don't second guess yourself, just test and learn, test and learn.

Of course! I can't help but be transparent with my emotions! And yup, focus on the growth and forget the haters :) welcome to platform, pumped to see what you produce :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32