VideoBlog#004 - Building a REAL following on [insert platform here] requires conversation, thoughtfulness, and strategy.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Okay guys, I know these videos about 'how to be successful' are a dime a dozen at this point, but I really wanted to talk about it from a musicians' standpoint. I STILL SEE a ton of this stuff going on, on and off Steemit, and it's important that people understand that a [relatively] successful movement is build off of engagement, understanding, conversation, and tactical placement.

I got excited about talking about this after reading a post from @myours, which you can read here:

https://steemit.com/music/@myours/living-with-your-music-is-it-possible

It's a thought-provoking read. What she was getting at isn't exactly what I'm talking about here, but really success as a musician and doing it as a living boils down to how you are interacting with the communities you are involved in and how you represent your brand (you) and your product (your music). So in a sense, making a living off of being a career musician is hugely reliant on these ideas.

I personally really love talking about these subjects because they are IMMENSELY important to someone who takes music seriously. Sometimes selling music feels like selling water by the river, and it's crucial to have even an entry background in marketing and promotion. It could mean the difference between squeaking by on a humble musicians' salary (which is fine if you're doing what you love!) and succumbing to the daunting 9-5 that you resent.

I am not a marketing professional by any means, but through my experiences as a musician I have picked up a small amount of knowledge on the subject. It's just logical that we all share and support each other through the knowledge and experiences that we have the best we can.

I've written a couple other Steemit articles on this stuff which you can check out below:

https://steemit.com/blog/@harrisonmir/don-t-just-do-what-you-love-do-what-you-can-endure

https://steemit.com/music/@harrisonmir/music-marketing-facebook-promoting-and-when-it-s-appropriate

https://steemit.com/originalmusic/@harrisonmir/songwriting-basics-my-best-advice-for-artist-start-ups

Regardless, if this post helps one person to better their position as a career musician or Steemian in general, I would be happy with that. Thanks for listening!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

SLMSBanner.png
You can join the 'Steemit Local Music Society' here:

https://discord.gg/WEWDDN2


You can follow me and my tunes on Steemit/Dtube/Dsound:

@harrisonmir

Sort:  

thank you for the insite!!

D.tube is better that youtube.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54