Living with your music - Is it possible?

in #music6 years ago

CYMERA_20160820_010954.jpg

Hello Steemian friends,
today I want to do another kind of post. My purpose is to open a debate about the difficult life of a musician.
I started to sing when I was 5 I think, but in my life I had to take another street, just becouse in my country (Italy) music is not a profession, but a passion.
Ok, OF COURSE is a passion, but I don't undestand the difference between the profession of Psychologist and Musician.
I'm a psychologist too and I love what I do, but if I could chose what I REALLY want to do in my life is...
THE MUSICIAN.
STOP.

Today we see the combination of the words "artist = famous = rich", if you are an "artist = no famous = poor".
I mean...I can't believe that I can't do what I like , just because I must play POP or the hit of the moment.
I love Soul, R&b, Rock, a lot of generes, but none of tese are famous or POPULAR.
I try to think to myself doing a videoclip where I'm almost naked just singing 3 words and dancing....is not right. This is not the reason why I love music.
I want people here for me, just listening, smiling, crying with my music.

So I'm trying really hard to understand if I have a future as a singer, musician, artist...or my destiny is to sing in a pub or bar for 50 euros at night.
I really hope that in the rest of the world it's different. I see the difference EVEN like a psychologist.
Here you can find people saying "I'm not crazy! I don't believe in it"....THANK YOU but we are not magicians!
This is frustrating for me, just because a love 1000 things, but I can't do none.

I hope that you'll give me some HOPE and different points of views.

With LOVE.

MYOURS

Ciao amici di Steemit,
oggi voglio fare un altro tipo di post. Il mio scopo è aprire un dibattito sulla vita difficile di un musicista.
Ho iniziato a cantare quando avevo 5 anni, ma nella mia vita ho dovuto prendere un'altra strada, perché nel mio paese (Italia) la musica non è una professione, ma semplicemente una passione.
Ok, OVVIAMENTE è una passione, ma non capisco quale sia la differenza tra la professione di psicologo e musicista.
Sono anche una psicologa e amo quello che faccio, ma se potessi scegliere ciò che VERAMENTE voglio fare nella mia vita è ...
LA MUSICISTA.
STOP.

Al giorno d'oggi vediamo l'associazione delle parole "artista = famoso = ricco", se sei un "artista = non famoso = povero".
Voglio dire ... Non posso credere di non poter fare quello che mi piace, solo perché devo suonare POP o l'hit del momento.
Amo il Soul, R & b, Rock, un sacco di altri generi, ma nessuno di questi è famoso o POPOLARE.
Immagino me stessa mentre faccio un videoclip dove sono quasi nuda, cantando solo 3 parole e ballando .... non è giusto. Non è questo il motivo per cui amo la musica.
Voglio gente qui per me, che semplicemente ascolta, sorride, piange con la mia musica.

Quindi per me sta diventando davvero difficile capire se ho un futuro come cantante, musicista, artista ... o il mio destino è cantare in un pub o in un bar per 50 euro durante la notte.
Spero davvero che nel resto del mondo sia diverso.
Vedo una differenza ANCHE come psicologa.
Qui puoi trovare persone che dicono "Non sono pazzo! Non ci credo" .... GRAZIE ma non siamo maghi!
Questo è davvero frustrante, solo perché amo 1000 cose, ma non posso farne nessuna.

Spero che mi darai un po' di SPERANZA e diversi punti di vista.

Con amore.

MYOURS!

Sort:  

I think the future for musicians is in the internet, in sites like steemit and freelance jobs like the ones you can do in fiverr... I live from music just by posting my music on steemit.com and working as a freelancer on fiverr, it requires some patience and hard work on the beginning but you truly can make a good income from this sources and is way much better than going to a club and sing for 50 euros... As a freelancer you dont leave your house and your work the ours you want, you dont have to deal with all the bullshit you see in pubs, and you will build your experience and growth enough to make a good living... Thinks are about to change for musicians...

I, too, am a musician and a singer. In order to make a living doing this, I've had to do all sorts of things - some of which, I didn't really love. Like singing at a restaurant.

Luckily, I teach and can play piano as well, so doing all of those things helps, but it's not the thing I want to do, it's just close.

I think the difference is that singing at bars, etc. is "entertainment" not "art". No one really cares if you move them or bring them to tears with your voice in those places, they just want you to be good background noise.

While I mostly sing classical, I recently decided to quit singing in the opera chorus because even there they had us doing and wearing things that really want not making art, but entertainment. It debased the art form, IMO.

I'm hoping that posting my music online will help get me heard, and since I don't need to make money singing, I am free to do what I enjoy. So perhaps that's the best way you can look at it: do what you love, and since you make money already doing something else, you don't have to compromise and take jobs that don't interest you.

I'd rather sing for free doing something I love than get paid for something I don't love.

Yes, the right word is entertainment. I'm happy that I'm not alone. I'm trying to do my best online, but here you have to face with views, maybe doing a video where u do something "crazy" just for likes. Fortunately we aren't all the same, and we can help each other like a team. Stay strong and thank u for your words.
💪

Penso che il bello delle crypto sia dare voce anche a chi come te vuole fare quello che ama. Si stanno creando piattaforme sulla falsa riga di steemit o che addirittura ne utilizzano il motore (STEEM) anche per far sentire al mondo la propria voce. Una di queste è dsound. Io non l'ho mai provata ma potrebbe essere un buon inizio. Spero tu possa inseguire sempre i tuoi sogni. Non mollare.

Grazie per il suggerimento! Seguirò sicuramente :) spero davvero che le mentalità possano cambiare grazie anche a persone che la pensano come me e te

Well-thought!

I think the modern career of the musician has been slandered by stereotypes and fabrications. I work with kids in my modern music program, and for example, half of kids interested in rap or hiphop come in with the mentality that they are going to be rich or get signed by a label if they begin writing/recording music. Having the next industry hit is an attainable goal within the next few years for them, and they start to mold their ambitions and growth around that - until I have something to say about it lol.

It's important to treat music like a job/career as any other would be. It takes work, practice, knowledge in the craft and in business. No one's first goal should ever be to 'make it big'. If I could ever think of a way to shatter someones' dreams and aspirations, that would be it.

We need to change the narrative.

Work on making your first $10 off of a recorded song, performance, or music service (like mixing or mastering). That in and of itself is a road better paved to success than thinking you're going to be the next pop star.

Working in music means you will be creating the job that pays you. Relying on the horribly sub-par music industry we see today for your well-being is like saying your career is buying lottery tickets with the intent to someday be a millionaire. It's silly.

But anyway, rant over! lol.

TL;DR - Work hard and practice, be patient and realistic, and look for job opportunities, not stardom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56400.87
ETH 2980.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19