Vlog 2: A Package From @papa-pepper! What A Bunch of Surprises!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Vlog 2 - thumbnail.jpg

I got a package - and was I surprised! Come in and find out what @papa-pepper sent and what he taught me here on Steemit.

A package from @papa-pepper appeared in my mailbox in early December. I set it aside until the holiday commotions were over. I finally opened that package the other day. If you watch the video, you'll see my reaction when I realize what all is in that package. Surprise after surprise after surprise -- yes, 3 surprises!

I also talk about how I got to know @papa-pepper and what I've learned from his example here on Steemit. If you have trouble watching the DTube video, I have the YouTube version at the bottom of this post. Click the picture here to start the DTube video. If you have trouble watching it, please let me know in the comments!



When I was checking out Steemit, to decide whether to sign up, I read a bunch of posts by @papa-pepper. He had posts on gardening and eating wild plants. And there were so many good comments from people interested in those topcis. That's when I decided Steemit was for me.

Since I've been on Steemit, I've learned from others, including @papa-pepper, how Steemit is a gift economy. The Steem blockchain provides us with the tools -- Steem and SBD -- to be generous. Following @papa-pepper's example, I've been able to give away a lot of SBD through contests and parties over the past year. My 14-day BLACKLUX Party, that's still going on through January 8, has been fun and is letting me help a Steemian, @blacklux, recover from hurricanes Irma and Maria. And give away upvotes and SBD prizes to party-goers, too.

x gifts fom papa pepper dec 2017.jpg
What a surprise! A Steemit T-shirt and a personalized Haphazard Homestead Steemit T-shirt! So great! And a genuine one-of-1500 Steemit Silver Round! Incredible!

steemit silver round 2017.jpg
A closer look at the 2017 Steemit silver round. What a great design -- minnows, dolphins, and whales all together in a global community!

So thank you, @papa-pepper, for the many gifts in the mail. And thank you for setting such a good example of how we can use Steemit to help each other.


What Do You Think?

  • Have you given or received any prizes or gifts from your time on Steemit?
  • Have you given any gifts to others on Steemit?
  • Have you considered Steemit to be a Gift Economy?
  • Would you rather watch a vlog or read a Steemit post?
  • Have you stopped by my BLACKLUX party?

If you have trouble watching the DTube version of my vlog, here's the YouTube version:


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@papa-pepper its a great man! He help so many people and its always teaching stuff! Im happy you received this gifts, you deserve all that and more!

Thanks, @blacklux! He's a great example for us all here on Steemit!

It is wonderfull recived a package from papapeppers, if i would like received some from him are his package of seeds that he share with some people but is not posible by laws of goverment and because the weather is diferent from his house to here, well it is a great thing to received a gift from others, but too is good thing to share with others, we only share gift with near people.
In steemit, mmmmm we do not share with others, i need to do that because ir is very important, in our case I tell you the first of january i received one steem with a message of a song ok the roaster, from @goldendawne it was wonderfull because i received a message very great she doing me very happy for the message, today i think i should do similar way to doing happiness other people.
Well have a happy year.
Best regard @galberto

Thanks, @galberto. It is problem sharing seeds across different countries, that's for sure! And that's a good point about your climate being so different, too. All our upvotes are ways to share on Steemit, too! And I always like seeing a comment from you. Happy new year -- and happy foraging! :D

Steemit is a social network like no other I have experienced.

It is all about the fantastic community here, and the people within those communities.

I've recently had the opportunity to chat with @papa-pepper on Discord. He is a fascinating fellow to talk with, and a true steemmultiplier for own wonderful platform.

Excellent video by the way.

Glad you enjoyed my video, @pennsif. That's a good term, "steemmultiplier". You seem pretty good at that, too! Here's to community! :D

Have you given or received any prizes or gifts from your time on Steemit?
Lots of prizes both given and received, but there have been two things that really stand out. One is the first (and so far only) Live Steemit Open Mic that @papa-pepper gave me SBD to fund, and the other is some ghost pepper salt from @doctorcrypto that he sent in the mail to me after @papa-pepper sent some ghost peppers to him!

Have you given any gifts to others on Steemit? Only prizes, and those only crypto.
Have you considered Steemit to be a Gift Economy? I read @stellabelle's article about a gift economy before. I'm not sure if it is as a whole, but certain subcommunities certainly behave that way, and maybe it will trend towards that. I hope so.
Would you rather watch a vlog or read a Steemit post? Read. Always read. I consume media so much faster by reading than watching.
Have you stopped by my BLACKLUX party? YEP

Thanks for answering all those questions, @improv! @stellabelle and @merej99 are the other folks that helped me understand Steemit's gift economy. That's great that you've been part of it, too. I know you give away your POCKET Tokens as part of your Pun contests. That's part of the gift economy, too! :D And I've appreciated you coming over and telling your jokes over at the BLACKLUX Party! :D :D

I like the reading best myself -- so much faster, even when I listen to videos at 2x speed.

That was a great video, and you ended it perfectly. Thanks for all of your kind words! I am glad that my presents blessed you!

RESTEEMED!

You are an amazing man, i wish you could nuture me,train, direct me. so, i can be blessed just as you did to @haphazard-hstead.
Am at your services and am new here and am willing to learn.@papa-pepper

You need a mentor? Absolutely essential for SUCCESS!!!

Sure i do need a mentor,
What do you suggest or think i should do?

I'm working with a multi-millionaire mentor.

how do i come in?

Glad you enjoyed the video! Thanks for watching it - and the resteem, too!

that is so sweet! I love the pesonalized shirt and the coin is so amazing.thank you

I was so surprised! And I'll definitely wear those shirts with a smile!

wow that coin is awesome and so are the t-shirts! Love it! Great video :)

Glad you enjoyed the video! It was quite a surprise package!

Some surprises are really nice :)

You got that right, for sure!

Ooh that is so sweet! I love the pesonalized shirt and the coin is so amazing :D

They were such a surprise! I still can't get over my personalized Steemit shirt!

Awesome thanks for sharing! I wanna make some.

Glad you enjoyed it. @papa-pepper showed how he makes T-shirts in several posts. This one is a different design, but shows the process well.

does he make the actual shirt too?

haha -- no, he makes the design with a stencil and then paints it on. It's really cool to see in person.

Awesome does it wash out?

It doesn't seem to - so far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70