Ulog 44: Homemade Onion Soup Mix

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Have your dinner ALL planned? Just need to add the onion soup mix to the meat... but wait! No onion soup mix! Have no fears... make your own.

So easy and I can almost guarantee you have ALL the ingredients in your pantry right now. Plus... no preservatives if you make your own.

Onion Soup Mix

  • 1/3 cup of powder beef bouillon- I ground up about a dozen beef bouillon cubes
  • 1-teaspoon garlic powder or garlic granules
  • 3/4 cup onion flakes
  • 4-teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery seed- either whole or ground up
  • 1/4-teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2-teaspoon black pepper
  • 1-teaspoon salt- I used Pink Himalayan
  • 1/4-teaspoon sugar- I used organic pure cane sugar

Mix all together in a bowl and then store in an airtight container. Serving size is about 1/4-cup of mixture per recipe.

I have found that the 1/4-cup ratio is pretty equivalent to the packages of onion soup mix you would buy in a store.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Ahh I just had my dinner...missed it....but is there any other alternative for beef? I would love to give it a try..

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh sure you can. I just used the beef roast as an example because that's what I was preparing that evening. It goes great on pork as well

Unless you mean the bouillon- you could also used vegetable bouillon

Yess...I would prefer that vegies / onion . ..not much liking for beef or pork..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yum! Homemade onion soup. But some of the ingredients you will have to dehydrate isn't it? Like the celery?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.786 which ranks you at #1385 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1382).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 191 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great tips! Thank you! :D

Ahhhhhh. I'm so glad to have this recipe. In my world there is almost no item that can't be improved with a little onion soup mix, and having a recipe to make my own? Wonderful. I have a place for it already, right next to the Taco mix. I'll just leave the sugar out and add some Stevia at the time of use if needed...

Thank You! I very much appreciate it.

I also like having an onion stock powder in my pantry, but for a while it kind of disappeared off the shelves. We have a local producer that makes stock powders without preservatives so to make up for the lack of onion, I just chop and cook a couple of onions to death (almost) to get the concentrated flavour before adding the water and vegetable stock powder. I do, though like your addition of garlic and paprika. I must bear this in mind, thank you @goldendawne

I have bought the last package of onion soup mix. We have all we need.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 43

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Howdy today goldendawne! well this is a brilliant idea and a delicious one too! great job. I just saw that you resteemed my post, thank you so much! My voting power got down to 38% so I am recharging, I'm at 62% now, will catch you in a couple days, God bless you!

I'd skip the bouillon cubes and just use the bone stock I always have in my freezer....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77