Sort:  

Gonna watch during my morning routine tomorrow, BUT if you want to replace the image file associated with the link to dtube, just copy the image link of the big one you uploaded, and replace the link on the DTube thumbnail that is connected to "snap". Not sure if that explanation made sense, but basically you can replace the small thumbnail with the larger one. (that's what I do)

I haven't shown steemit to non-crypto friends yet, but I have the same reservations you do, about it feeling a bit shady. All the bots and spam are tough. I know that Twitter and others have just as much spam and bots, but that stuff is buried by their algorithm, so it's not as obvious. But here, spam + bots = money. And that's how things are ranked. Hopefully some folks will build new platforms that bring better curation to things and filter out the noise, that's the next big step I think.

And thanks for that video! I appreciate knowing I've watched the worst video ever. ;)

(Side note: my partner and friends are doing a marathon livestream today, and tonight after work I'll be on stream. If you want to play PUBG Duos on stream with me, I'd be pretty chuffed, as you'd say. Here's the Discord where you can find me: https://discord.gg/2PqhW6)

Hey mate! Really appreciate your comments! And thank you very much for the help with the thumbnail, I knew there had to be a way to sort it but I had no clue lol.

I think shady is a good word for it. It all feels a bit too good to be true and there's s many people trying to take advantage it kind of dilutes the value of things slightly. Yeah I'm sure there'll be plenty of updates/improvements to come, I hope anyway!

Haha hey! You're supposed to say it isn't the worst video ever! :P

Would have been really keen but had a meeting down in Liverpool (across the country) last night and I ended up not getting back until pretty late so it was shower, food, and bed unfortunately.

Do you use that Discord a fair bit? If so, I'll pop on and say hello at some point soon.

We just started it, but it'll be the one for the platform my partner and her team are launching (hopefully soon) called Geode. So, I'll definitely be on there. Same username as here, so you'll be able to find me

In case the link I sent yesterday is inactive now: https://discord.gg/2PqhW6

Hey mate what's your username on Discord, including the 4 digits after your name? I'll add you as a friend might be easier because those invites have run out. Or add me: Will#8357

just sent you a friend request on Discord. Mine is gyrosean#0636

Cheers dude! Don't know how things work out with time difference but sure there'll be crossover.

Babbling to yourself is good therapy lol. Keep it up. Blessings

Haha it really is! Thanks for watching! :)

Hey mate, firstly, definitely not the worst video I've watched. I genuinely found it interesting to hear your opionion because you delivered it so genuinely, despite your distrust towards us folks here in the comments towards the end ;) But I do know exactly how you feel! I think alot of what you said rings true on here thus far but I reckon what you say about the comments is correct. There is no way we can get a proper or engaged following through spam etc... need to interact with others and try and find like minded people. Personally I find it a slow and difficult process but I perservere because I enjoy making my videos as a hobby when it comes down to it.

In saying all that, I certainly started out on steemit looking for a quick buck but realised pretty quickly that it's not the best way to treat the platform and would rather try and great something more organic. Keep up at it - judging by what I've seen you will do fine!

Haha! Glad to hear it's not the worst! :P

And I'm really glad you found some value in the video. Yeah comments seem to be the way forward atm and, luckily, I quite enjoy commenting and getting stuck in with all of that so it doesn't bother me too much but I can understand some people not loving that side of things.

Thanks mate I really appreciate your comment!

My pleasure, ill be stopping by in the future to leave some more I'm sure!

i agree with you when it comes to commenting on the steemit platform!
my votes have only been going to my commenting and who i post on, i've noticed that when i started on my steemit that the chances you have of your content being actually seen by the majority is in the first 5 minutes, everyone else seems to either have a built up channel with followers or a massive payload of steempower, i gained the majority of my followers that have been active since i returned through comments. I also noticed all the bots and i also don't even know half of them, we're in the same boat there, i really enjoyed your DVlog and am considering attempting my own in the future, Keep up the great content, and have a nice evening or afternoon! @fullygaming

I dig it. I’m New here and getting used to everything as well. So it’s a pleasure! Cheers 🍻

Thanks for the comment! Great to hear that I'm not totally alone with all of those things!

Appreciate you saying you enjoyed the video, you should go for it mate!

I think you've made some fairly astute observations. A lot of the content on the site is shit. A lot of of it is a circle jerk of self-voting. As much as this stuff bothers me, I know I can't stop it. This is not a utopia; it's a microcosm of real life. You just have to decide to be yourself, preferably your best self, to the best of your ability and let the shit people be shit people. You have to live with yourself forever; make your decisions accordingly.

Yeah I get you. I do really like Steemit but it's hard to deny the issues atm.

Thanks for the comment mate, appreciate it.

hey mate! (i've never actually called anybody mate in real life)
i had similar impressions when i started. if i could make even one SBD for a post i'm happy. let's hope it gets bigger for both of us.
i already see some of your posts have gotten a lot of votes. congrats on those. keep on posting man 👍

Haha! Well now you've said it once you can use it all the time! :P Guessing you're not from the U.K then if you don't use "mate"?

Cheers dude, thanks for commenting! Appreciate ya! :)

no i've never been there. maybe i'll try calling my friends mate someday. usually it's hey man~
anyways i hope you make it on steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67