Author Reading - a New Beginning

in #dtube5 years ago


It has been almost 2 months since we had our last Author Reading contest. This is entirely due to me (Marianne) getting overwhelmed with life - or at least with my online presence.

But let's start fresh from here!

The Freewrite House and @onelovedtube presents the Author Reading contest!

We have a weekly sponsor for 10 SBI in prices. The Daily Sneak is our sponsor!!

Thank you so much!!!

Hope many of you will participate!!

Author Reading- How to Participate

  • Choose any of your original writing - it doesn't have to be a Freewrite

  • Make a video of you reading it. It can show your face - but it doesn't have to. Knock yourself out with editing - or not. Up to you.

  • Languages accepted: English, Spanish, German

  • Post your video to DTube.

  • If you can, also include a YouTube version for those that have a hard time viewing DTube.

  • Have fun with it!

Author Readings, Video, and Prizes.

To me, the Author Readings are one of the funnest activities we are doing at the Freewrite House. But video is a complicated process from an apple device. It involves pulling things into iMovie, uploading to YouTube, downloading from there to get a decent formatting that uploads to DTube. Uploading to Dtube, writing the post....

You get it. It is not as easy as doing a quick video and uploading it. All of that is not a big deal by itself, but it becomes one when your day is already full!!!

That said, we are asking you to overcome that hurtle and do and author reading you will post to DTube and then leave a link to your video in the comments of this post.

We in turn will do our best to have the next contest start on time and do the prize distributions in a timely manner.

Speaking of prizes. I felt so guilty that I was so late with the last prize payout that you all got double.

4 SBI instead of 2 went to:

@felt.buzz
@kaelci
@chireerocks
@kaerpediem
@blueeyes8960

That was for Week 4.

Week 5 had 2 entries.

@kaelci and @raj808

5 SBI to each.

Join us at the Freewrite House for lots of Fun Activities!!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@freewritehouse Team, Kindly find my contribution below.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@chireerocks/nubcq63m

Have a great time ahead.

You did it!!!!

I did!! :D :D ..... unfortunately the recording was a bit quiet..... my headphones are super loud and I didn't realise the recording was so quiet until I checked it on Partiko.

I could hear it fine. Just turned up the volume some. Love the story and love your voice!!

Thank you! :)

I still feel bad the volume is so low. 😅 Will double-check the next one before uploading!!

Excellent 💪 your so generous @mariannewest, congrats to the winners!

Soon with the update to DTube we will be able to open the door to YouTube shared videos for those that have issues with DTube @kaelci 😉, we will see how it all plays out.

Thank you to The Daily Sneak for sponsoring our author reading contest, I will do my best to promote and make your sponsorship worth while 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yay!!!!
Thank you so much :)

Honestly, I am amazed at how much you get done in a day
Surely, you have learnt the art of stretching time

Truly appreciate all that you do for us <33

Big hugs to you!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much!!😊❤️ ❤️ ❤️

Sadly, I can't continue on with the author reading. :( dTube has been blocked in my country and I refuse to use YouTube. (I also can't use a VPN because it slows down my internet to abysmal speeds, and my Australian Internet Speeds are already pretty abysmal!! Sigh.)

Typical, as soon as I get over my voice fear. 😅

oh nooooooo
How frustrating
Hugs

We will get her sorted out even if we need to give access to the onelove uploader!

@kaerpediem do you think we can count on you to make certain all entries are supported by onelove curation?

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes of course,
I can do that @d00k13 :)

Excellent, our boy Bruni has quite a few things on his plate I figured it would be better monitored between the two of us 👌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmm 🤔 is it simply the uploading and watching on DTube specifically you cannot do?

Can you watch videos through busy or Steem peak?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can watch dtube videos on Partiko. :) But I can't upload them. On Steempeak, Busy, Steemit, every other frontend, I get:

Screenshot 183.png

Because dTube has been blocked on pretty much every Australian ISP. Thanks to the Christchurch shooting near a month ago. Someone uploaded a recording of the livestream to dTube, and anywhere that had the recording was instantly blocked. (except, you know, big people like Facebook and Youtube.)

eurgh.PNG

I may just have a trick up my sleeve to get you running using an alternative uploader.

Have you tried DTube.network?

Posted using Partiko iOS

!!!! You are my hero!
@mariannewest - the dtube.network website works! :D

I didn't even know it existed! Haha! :D :D

I knew it! Between all of us, we find a solution to everything!! Do a story with your son. Like @kaerpediem did with her daughter. That would be great!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That would be an excellent free read

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your welcome 🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wrote too quickly - it seems to half work. I'll try uploading next week or so to see for sure. :)

(all the videos with "missing image", don't load)

Screenshot 184.png

(aaaand, after further investigating - no videos work. But the uploader page connects fine! So, we'll see what I attempt an upload next week when school holidays are over. Fingers crossed.)

Yea, it may be playing from d.tube links still.... I bet if you watch from the IPFS links at bottom they will play because that’s what Partiko plays from.

Let me know if you are able to upload, warning it’s fairly slow being a community driven hosting solution but solves the videos being deleted thing. Maybe try a test file and see if it will complete an upload and just don’t post it then we will know about getting you set up with another option.

Last option would be our oneloveDTube uploader if that one does not work, I’m certain for just this purpose we could give you access as long as you promise a little promotion in the DTube posts 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think we can find a workaround solution for that. You do your video - shrink it to a dropboxable (this should be a word!! I insist) or emailable size - I think you can use handbreak.

then get it to me, I publish it on the Freewrite account saying that it is yours and send you the payout...

Where there is a will, there is a way - or something like that :)

We'll see!! :) I know you have a lot on your plate already, but that would be wonderful. Will have to try for the next Author Reading Week if so, school holidays are crazy! 🤪🤪🤪

But thank you!!

I think we could also work out access to the one love uploader for this specific circumstance 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

@freewritehouse Team, Looking forward for this contest. Thank you so much and keep up the great work team.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent thank you for the support, will you be reading with us?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Soon i will come up with my piece.

Excellent ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the double awards - and no doubt in my mind you are VERY BUSY. We appreciate all that you do! @crypt-skip and I are working on another production now.

Thank you for participating congrats on the double rewards and good luck ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much, I really appreciate the SBI and the chance to share dive of my poetry/short film in a video reading 🙂

I love reading poetry, so this was a true pleasure. If I'm not too sick over the next week, I'll try and make another author reading. Maybe some of my fantasy fiction.

Thanks again Marianne and dook13 for hosting this 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88