How To Sharpen A Knife By Hand

in #dtube4 years ago (edited)


When it comes to knives, there is nothing like a nice edge. Sometimes we run them to the point of being a butter knife, but then it is time to bring them back. Today I am giving a quick tip on how I "knock an edge on".

As a custom knife builder I like my knives to have an edge. Not always razor and shaving sharp, but I would like them to gracefully cut paper. The knives I make of an "everyone" kind of knife. I want to make a good knife that people aren't afraid to work.

When it comes to sharpening the knife you have to consider the angle of the bevel. Each knife will be a bit different and have a slightly different angle on the cutting edge. I try to stick with the same angle on all of my knives, but in truth it is like a micro bevel.

I love a scandi grinds. I like they way it looks and performs, but I don't always like sharpening all the way to the top of the grind. So I use a stone that I hold in my hand, and run the knife across it.

I know there are many methods for sharpening a knife, but today is just about getting it back to usefully sharp. I use a smaller stone that I hold with my left hand. I make sure to draw and push the blade from the plunge line all the way to the tip, while at the same time taking it the entire length of the stone.

This process is something that may take more time to learn. It takes a bit of practice to hold the blade at the same angle for both sides. When you are sharpening the blade make sure to think about what is actually happening, and it will make the process make more sense.

On the cutting edge there is a very fine burr that is rolled to one side. As you are running the knife across the stone, you are rolling the burr from one side to the other. So as you are sharpening back and forth you are folding that burr over and over again. Eventually the burr will either get very fine or even come off.

When I am done using the stone to sharpening, I use my belt. Yep, just my belt. I have a regular old brown leather belt. I undo my belt and just lay the end of it across a flat surface, and then run my knife across it. I mean it a dragging motion back and forth on both sides. Never push the knife edge first...you will cut your belt haha.

I like to get the knife to comfortably cut paper with just using the stone, and then run it across the leather. This helps to move that burr back and forth some more.

With a bit of practice it can become something that can be done pretty quickly. I should said efficiently. Don't rush and hurt yourself. It can become something that you can do in a short amount of time, and have a good edge.

Thanks for joining me today.
Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I picked up a few things here so thank you...Can you do the same but for an axe? I've never sharpened one and have one to do right now. I figure you would know how best to perform the task.

Hey! That is a great idea! I will get to that soon!

Sometimes I have good ideas, this is one of those rare occasions it seems. 😂✅

Congratulations @freedompoint! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for this tutorial. Enjoyed to see the gist of sharpening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91