Top 5 ways homesteading changed my mind

in #dtube5 years ago


Top 5 ways homesteading changed my mind!!

I wanted to take some time this morning to jump into a couple things that have changed since beginning our homesteading journey.

Some may not think much of them, but others might see how they feel extreme.

Going from running a business in a 'big city' to homesteading in the Ozarks definately opened my eyes to alot of things. Here are my top five ..

  1. Food
  2. Cleanliness
  3. Resources
  4. Rest
  5. First aid/ medical

I hope you enjoyed the video with the wild cats, and I look forward to hearing about your experience (#innerblocks) in the comments!

Be well
~The Yeti


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

It certainly changes how you see things.

I would add #6 security. Out on the homestead or in the forest you can't just call the police and have them show up in 5 minutes or less. You have to take security into your own hands.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, it would be almost a hour before anybody could show up for us. We also have to be prepare to fight fire until help arrives.

That is another good one. I know our neighbor was 1/4 mile away. There was nothing out there but us!

Inspiring stuff! Interested in hearing more about your experience with rest and going from always on the go to cultivating time for peace and leisure. This is a good reminder for me about really making an effort as a family to do better resting on the Sabbath. Also interested in hearing more about your faith journey when you feel comfortable.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Even the mere contemplation of homesteading, along with growing some of your own food, starts to change your perspective on things. I can only imagine how much more it changes once you're actually in that situation.

This post has been featured in the Homesteading – Living Naturally newsletter


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47