Vlog #113: Different decentralized video hosting sites are appearing.

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


After Dtube and the announced https://view.ly/ by user Furion another decentralise video site has appeared.

It's called Viuly.io causing some name confusions here and there I guess.

They have an Alpha test site so I decided to upload a video to see if it works at all.

There is a lot of work to be done for sure. But I did manage to upload a video!

Test Video: https://viuly.io/video/421

Viuly.io

The good:

Registering is Easy
Site looks nice
Videos load fast (on my end)

Bad:

Uploading is really slow.
Uploading does not always work after pressing finish (the final step).
Even though I uploaded a video it's not visible on my own channel under my username.


323213213131231231231231231.png

my feed is empty even though I have uploaded videos


I really like all the development that is going on in the decentralize video department. I can only see this improving over time.


YOUTUBE BACKUP LINK


Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


► DTube

Sort:  

Viuly, I think its made by a russian team of devs. furion had mentioned it in a post cautioning investors.
It'll be interesting to see which one of the three (DTube, Viewly, Viuly) are adopted by the masses. I'm placing my bets on Viewly, mainly because I'd invested in their recently concluded pre-ico.

That's very nice to hear. Are rewards enabled for that video? I just had a look at the trending page of Viewly, there are some videos that show some decent rewards.

I don't understand why video is so slow downloading?(not much servers around the world?)
YouTube video runs better. Click and you watch video, but vewly and Dtube you need waith to download.

Even if you enjoy the new "viuly" I would certainly stick with Viewly so far and be very cautious.

https://steemit.com/scam/@isacoin/exposing-scam-ico-viewly-vs-viuly-which-is-the-real-deal-viewly

Other upcoming ICOs also include Stream Space and Flixxo. With Flixxo being especially interesting so far in my opinion, for instance because of Federico Abad (The creator of Popcorn Time) working on the UX / UI.

Decentralized video has a long way to go.
I tried Dtube, I know about viewly.
You can tell easily some fishy with the name viuly too close to viewly.
Wait and see.
Keep on steemit.

Yeah, it's still early days but I see the potential for it.

Hey @exyle if you're trying other platforms, you may enjoy https://spee.ch. It's built on the LBRY blockchain and is, IMO, the best one available right now.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 1.32.17 PM.png

Thanks for the tip! I'll check it out!

be careful read this from view.ly

Scam Alert: Impostor sites
Posted on 2017, Sep 29 by view.ly
We have noticed a recently created Russian copy-cat of Viewly, sneakily named Viuly. At first, we found it funny, but soon the frightening realization set in - some people will unfortunately fall for it.

We believe the impostor is trying to capitalize on the upcoming view.ly token sale, by confusing the newcomers and/or taking advantage of people that hear about Viewly sale, but miss it.

Where can I find the real Viewly?

https://view.ly - Viewly
https://alpha.view.ly - Viewly Alpha
https://t.me/viewly - Telegram group
Which sites are not related to Viewly

viuly.com
viuly.io
viewly.com*
*viewly.com is not fraudulent, they just don’t want to sell their domain at this time.

We expect more sites to pop up, some of them more obviously fake (ie. direct copies of the website), as Viewly gains traction. We will keep this list up to date on our blog. If you find an impostor or misleading site, please let us know.

Be vigilant, stay safe. - Viewly Team

Yeah I've also noticed the competition. I did some translations for DTube and I really wonder which will win out. What's your opinion?

Thanks a lot for the push up yesterday! That was really something!

I think there is room for more than one service. I'm hoping Dtube will do well (of course). I think Video hosting is very important for the growth of the Steem blockchain.

Damn good to see you here my beery friend :)
will watch your dtube :) hehe

Glad to know these good advancement in decentralize video hosting sites.. This is just the beginning, will improve as they evolve.

I agree. this space is slowly being discovered.

Same going here with me i hope they will manage it faster

Uploading is really slow.
Uploading does not always work after pressing finish (the final step).
Even though I uploaded a video it's not visible on my own channel under my username.

Hi man, I'm not sure about this one. It's a direct competitor I know, but Furion also thinks it's a scam...

Your name sounds like Viewly.
You copied the structure from Viewly.
Your advisors are listed against their will. Some of them have sent you notices to remove them from your website.
You have paid shills creating fake impression of activity.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@viuly/introducing-viuly-or-our-viu-token-pre-sale-is-today-or-bounty-program-info

I read that. It's one of the reasons I wanted to try it out. It works (sort of) and I didn't have to invest or pay anything to try it so I can't see the scam aspect yet.

I'm usually very slow to call anything or anyone a scam, but in this case they have a very similar name that they published after Viewly and at the very least claimed to have people working for them that it appears have publicly refuted this.

If I'm wrong and I'm being taken for a fool by others, please correct me. But for now I would be very careful with this new site.

I can't tell you whether you are right or wrong tbh. I don't know the facts. I just tried it to see what it was and if it had merit. It works and it didn't cost me anything to upload my video (when it worked).

I'm not investing anything in their ICO btw.

Hi @exyle
I just added you to my voter because i found your posts are interesting :)
I'll appriciate if you do the same for me :)
Have a grate day man.

All these developments look nice but the logo of Viuly and it's name is bound to cause confusion. Also I see thumbs up and down buttons and not upvote buttons like I expected. The site looks nice and the video works at least.
We'll have to see who will be the decentralized "youtube" of the future.

@exyle I will have to take a look at this after I get done with my steaks on the BBQ. I am slicing some onion right now to saute.......................

Nice! What time is it over there? It's 10:45 here.

It is 2:00 AM right now. Sometimes the Best Work is done in the middle of the night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00