Vlog #87: STEEM exchange node update + Steemporium pays designers + Reached level 70!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Team Steemit updated their documentation for running a STEEM exchange node. Fantastic!

Let's hope that one Exchange, in particular, takes this information to heart and fixes their node. So trading can commence again.

For two reasons I think this is important.

  1. Having deposits and withdrawals disabled on an exchange sends a very negative signal about the coin.
  2. By disabling withdrawals it suppresses the price of the coin because it can only be withdrawn from the exchange by trading it for another crypto. (adds selling pressure)

Read more about the update here: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitdev/how-to-set-up-a-steem-exchange-node-in-60-minutes-or-less


Recently I bought a mug from a store called Steemporium. It's possible to pay with Steem Dollars there.

I got a message from the owner today that my order is being processed and I will receive the mug by the end of September. Which is fine. I still have some mugs until that time :)

The mug cost me $33 SBD. Of which $8 is shipping. (from the US to Netherlands).

But recently I learned they have a cool business model where everyone benefits.

After production costs, 85% of the leftover dollars go to the designer of the mug and 15% goes to the store owner.

What a great way to support designers!

And the beauty of the Steem blockchain is that everything is open. I, therefore, had a small look in the wallet of the store and have seen indeed that the designer of my mug has been paid.

I like to support and try to give exposure to these endeavors because I think they give the Steem blockchain more value. As you should know by now I believe the Steem blockchain will transform into a social economic platform and these small endeavors are the first to appear and benefit from this.


Yesterday I reached reputation level 70. I'm very proud of that. It took me 13 months of consistent writing to get there. Thanks everyone for voting and following me.



► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

It is always great when the weather people are wrong (which seems like it is most of the time). I guess there is more sun for you rather than some gloomy rain and sombre skies. I hope you enjoy the lovely blue skies :)

CONGRATULATIONS ON REACHING 70 REPUTATION. That is an enormous achievement. It is going to take me maybe a couple of years before I reach it. I think it is pretty special to get 70 REP and also I reached 60 REP a couple of days ago (I believe it was your upvote that made it happen) and it put a huge smile on my face, and it made me happy to see how far I have come.

I saw ausbitbanks post about it, and apparently, it was a swift update, and he has already started to mine some blocks again.

Hopefully Poloniex, Bittrex and Blocktrades will run smoothly now, and we won't suffer wallet maintenance regularly. Blocktrades is really convenient, but I don't think I'd want to take a gamble and invest in poloniex despite the cheaper prices.

We do have some very talented people here and I hope some people can make some great designs and benefit from it. It is pretty cool how a massive 85% goes to the artists. That is a huge cut, and I think some people should get behind this early before it starts blowing up.

Hopefully that there will be more items, so we have more uses of our steem dollars as well as not continuously converting to fiat and facing loads of fees. I've seen some proposal of steem debit cards which I think would be a pretty cool idea, but I don't know if that will become a reality.

I hope you have a fantastic day too @exyle! :)

Thank you! And you have a great day as well!

congrats on your effort also at reahing a 60 rep @arckrai, Great effort!

Congrats on reach a reputation level of 70. I noticed it's a lot harder to rise up the reputation levels the higher you get. To get into the 70 level, it's quite an achievement. The Steemporium concept sounds great. It reminds me a lot of Amazon's Merch program as well as other print on demand businesses.

Congrats ! Your consistency pays off.
Got a question @exyle, what is the relation between SP and reputation?
Let's say high reputation and low SP?

No relation. You can have a high reputation with little STEEM power and vice versa or both.

Thank you.
I was thinking about having a high reputation help you in the rewarding side. So it is just a way of showing how much you contribute to the platform and follow the rules.

I was searching for such a platform since a long time, because I am a graphic designer and 3D artist. Recently I made a music art cover for soundlegion music art contest.

I hope you will get some design on there. But I'm not sure about the process yet.

Tell me in detail about it dear, I really need these types of platforms.

Is it expensive for a mug?

For one as cool as this + coming from the US not so much I think.

Congrats for the 70. I think increasing level after 50 is somewhat difficult, because I reached 50 in a month, but now the same people's votes who made me reach here doesn't make much difference in my reputation. It is slow growth acter 50 and maybe it will be slower after 60, you must be knowing it better.
Also good to know about gour mug you paid for in Steem. This builds more confidence among the Steem community.

all good news! I hope steemit will benefit from it alot! congrats on your lvl 70!

nice post @exyle, i am glad to see you reaching the reputation level 70 and well you deserve it the amount of effort and work you put in from last 13 months or so is awesome, yes Steemporium is doing great by giving the rewards for designers is creating the win win situation and that's important for the growth of any business, the weather in nether land with clear blue sky looks so cool and beautiful, thanks for sharing.

Thank you!

Lot's of Cool update today Congrats first of all on Reaching the Reputation level of 70,its not easy to reach up there you have done a great job and you totally deserve it :) and yeah congrats on 2500 followers too keep hitting milestones soon enough coz its your habit :D.

Thanks for updating about the STEEM exchange node really had no idea about that i don't use polonix too hahah BTW i love bittrex exchange

70!!! Get in!! It's an accomplishment and a half.

Yeah, I'm pretty proud of it man.

Totally, it really means something when the counter ticks over!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45