What my new BJJ routine looks like: drills, drills drills

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


I stopped sparring about 1 or 2 weeks ago because I didn't feel 100% safe doing it. Even people with great skills and the best intentions can make a bad move, and administrate an accidental elbow or kick to the stomach, so it's just best to avoid it all together. I prefer sticking to techniques and drilling for the time being.

Drills are something I really enjoy, even though many BJJers find them boring. I think they're a great way not only to stay in shape, but also to perfect your movements and stamina.

I had paused my training during the 3 first months of pregnancy due to exhaustion, but now I'm feeling energetic and since I've started training again, I can really feel my cardio and strength getting a little better. It's still not as good as prior to my pregnancy (and won't be until after, since the heart beats faster due to increase blood volume when you're producing a baby, but it's improving.

I'm training at least 3 times per week now, and focusing on drills.

During open mats, that works out perfectly! I can drill with @el-cr in between rounds, and do my own solo drills when he's busy sparring with the rest of the team. I feel good, because I know that I'm not just sitting on my thumbs. I personally think that drilling is key in performing well in BJJ, so the more I do, the better!

Here are some of the drills I did yesterday. Each exercise was performed for 1 minute. Before, one minute wasn't very long, and now it seems like an eternity. I also pause in between each drill to catch my breath, but I guess that's normal. There are drills I wanted to share with you, but the video was getting quite long so I'll leave those for another time =)

If you know of some good solo exercises feel free to share them with me! I'm always happy to mix things us!

Enjoy!

OSS

Music credit goes to @djlethalskillz


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Ohh I love the pass you start drilling around 5:01 ...loooks sooo good when someone does it in full speed during the roll. I always used to get caught with a feet of a guy and fell back on the same side haha :D Btw u really like "Black and yellow" song right? Its been so often in ur videos :D

yeah it's all about timing and you hold both legs with your arm so that they can't lift it =). I didn't jump very high, but sometimes you have to jump higher...

Yes the song! I know right? I keep forgetting which music I used before, but this one was part of the mix from @djlethalskillz so it's a different version of it =)

I am very proud of you! I have pregnant warrior wife!

=) thank you!!

Thank you !!! Coming from you that means something 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm tired lol

Posted using Partiko Android

😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 22.19% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL - Official Trailer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54