Is it unethical for vegans to have pets?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Having animals as companions - yay or nay for vegans?

  • Can you be vegan and at the same time have pets that consume meat?
  • Do you think that, as a vegan, one should not own a pet at all?

I'll let you decide, but here's my take on the subject!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

logo+join

Sort:  

Interesting topic and the question of where to draw the line in terms of selflessness vs selfishness is something I have been thinking about a lot the past couple of years. In the end everybody pretty much draws the line to the point it makes them feel comfortable and arguments also go as far. I don't mind pets myself even though I don't have any myself right now. You can go a step further when it comes down to your argument about that the cat is from a shelter and it would have died. What if you let the cat die, not support the meat industry by having to buy cat food and use all the money you would have spend on it to actually save the lives of kids in afrika. Is that not the more ethical thing to do purely from a though experiment angle ?

I like the way you think.. although knowing myself I would probably spend the money otherwise here, and probably not in Africa to help kids. When it comes to charity causes I’m all about the animals 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very interesting topic Eve, thanks for covering it. I agree with everything you said in the video, except for the fish tank thing. To me, this particular issue remains controversial. I am not talking about dolhpinariums and other similar facilities - these are pure evil of course. I am talking about devoted, educated and experienced fish keepers who love their fish, take good care of them and provide them with habitat that imitate their natural environment to the point where the fish might not even see and feel the difference. As a matter of fact, I discussed this thing with @valth some time ago. We are both dedicated nature lovers, we both are into aquaristics and we both seem to have a growing issue with the ethics of it, although I think I can say we are the kind of keepers that I described above. I wish some smart scientific dudes could carry out a survey to find out whether fish can be really happy in a fish tank when given everything they need and want.

We are fish in the tank too.
Are we happy?

People create their own tank @oldtimer LOL

Maybe you live in delusion, hehe.
If the glass is far enough you don't even notice you live in the tank.
Did you watch the movie Truman show?

yes, very good movie, and also very sad....let's hope my glass is very far away then = )

I am quite happy in my Steemit tank :D How about you?

Me too, but I had a bigger tank in my mind.

I don’t know it’s delicate.. I guess certain fish born in captivity and who maybe don’t need a lot of space would not be unhappy in a large tank, but since we can’t really know I prefer to avoid it. But I am sure that you are a very empathetic and kind person, so I trust that you know what you’re doing 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sufficient size of the tank is one of the most important things every fish keeper should be aware of, absolutely. I would never put any fish into a small tank - this is what I hate so much about dolphinariums. Btw I am actually more into keeping crustaceans - crayfish and crabs - than fish ;) But like I said - even though I am quite confident I always took the best possible care of every single creature living in my tank, I am more and more questioning the moral of this hobby. I actually haven´t had a fish tank for years already as it is simply not compatible with our current nomadic lifestyle but I might well end up giving up on this hobby even once we settle down, just because of the ethical aspect of it.

Sure why not? I thought it's the suffering of animals you're against. So surely if you give a beautiful dog a loving home, it is a good thing... as long as you don't force it to be vegan! :-)

Cg

I totally agree and am 100% against forcing animals to become vegan 😜 nice to hear from you again @cryptogee I hope you’re doing well?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes very well, and I see that you are pregnant?!?! Congratulations to you both!! :-)

Cg

Meanwhile in the background

Ahahha well spotted 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is something I totally struggle with. I drive past a lot of farms... and it's sad to see horses and goats confined to such small areas. A friend told me that prey animals (ie, animals that don't hunt their food) really do like having security over freedom, which I guess makes sense. All these dogs in tiny apartments that rarely get to run around where they want to will always make me a little bit sad.

We've got plenty of space, and people ask us all the time when we're getting dogs or goats... but I think I prefer just to let the deer wander through our land... doesn't get much more natural than that.

I totally Agee that it’s sad to have animals in a small space and I think that’s a different topic entirely. People shouldn’t have pets unless they can make them 100% happy, and of course living in a tiny apartment would be cruel for the animal. I am lucky to have a lot of space and my dogs and cats come and go as they wish, but I know it’s not the reality of most people. Many people have pets for selfish reasons unfortunately... and for me it’s like having kids. If you can’t make them happy and care for them you shouldn’t have them 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're spot on. It's a silly argument. Those people really are clueless to say you 're a bad vegan because of that. What the hell you gonna feed a grown ass dog?? lol

Thanks Robert 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree with you 100%
have a great day!

Thanks hedac I’m glad you agree 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

You got a 16.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65