Training using babies as weights

in #dtube6 years ago


Hey all,

I'm so stoked because my friend Esther is back in town! She had left for a few months to give birth to her baby boy in Holland (where she is from originally), and now she's back in Panama teaching strength and condition again.

She also teaches Muay Thai and fitness normally, but now that she's a new mom (her son is 5 months old), she needs to start slowly again and had the fantastic idea to adapt her workout to the many other young moms that in town who want to get back in shape after giving birth.

I don't have my baby yet (although I guess carrying it inside counts too since I'm lifting the weight!), but I decided to join the baby-weight workout with the rest of the mommies.

This workout was a trial and was the very first one offered. It was also somewhat improvised, but it was a great workout and something tells me this will gain in popularity quickly =)

Hope you enjoy!

Music credit: The Lightning Seeds: You showed me


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well this is a first. As an added plus, you totally save on babysitter costs. Not something I'd be worried about, but a thought... what about exposing the kids to the germs that may be in a gym setting since people are often sweating it out everywhere?

hey there =) Great point about the germs! The mamas bring a blanket so the babies don't touch the floor, but we also always wash the mats with bleach, so that should theoretically fix the problem. BUT these babies are already 5-6 months old, so they're not so much at risk anymore to be in public places and in contact with germs...but I guess there's always some level of risk.

Could be a great bonding exercise, just hold on tight!

giphy.gif

Lol exactly this will be my new dumbbell 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

You'll have to train often as they will be growing fast - could be 10kg in no time!

Yes!!! My friends son already weighs 7 kilos at only 5 months!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can really see it catching in Surrey, the undisputed home of the Yummie!

Posted using Partiko Android

**...fires up Google and types in “house for sale in Surrey...”

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wouldn't - they'll just end up winding you up with their Range rovers, designer wellies, £30 daily costa rounds for them and their kids, yogalates at 11.00, all paid for by hubby earning £100K/ year in the city trading stocks in arms and oil companies.

Oh, and they won't even notice you! Too busy trying to get noticed, by all the other yummies!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahahaha I was wondering what yummies were lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are even academic papers on the yummy-mummy...

https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/The-rise-of-the-‘-yummy-mummy-’-%3A-popular-and-the-Littler/9ee0b65897aa68ce031775f10f656f573ed47afd

It's actually a really good read.

That link doesn't work - so you might have to type the title into Google - or yummy + mummy + neoliberalism will find it.

btw just discovered an Australian reality TV show called yummy mommies, and since you got me curious about the phenomenon, I watched some...OMG!!!! They are truly detestable! Such superficial, awful human beings!!!!! definitely shouldn't reproduce...lol

That sounds like a healthy sort of reaction.

Don't ever move to Surrey in the UK, it's chock-full of them.

If it makes you feel any better they basically live in their own personal hells - always worrying about keeping up appearances.

They deserve a little compassion maybe? They are sorry creatures!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, it's actually extremely sad...

Is that where you live @revisesociology? 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thankfully I've just moved West, much less of that sort of thing over near Wales!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is the best thing I’ve ever seen on DTube 😭😭

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol flying babies 👶 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome ladies! A great way to stay in shape before and after the little ones come along, and it also sets such a great example for them, too. I'm greedy when any of my clients have brought in their babies--I end up holding them more than they do, haha! Bonus biceps for me. ;)

😂 yes they will be total gym babies !!! Learning young!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ohhh that's suupersweet :)) And the moment where yo've taken kettlebell instead of baby was just tooo funny hahha :D not sure why but I just totally burst out laughing :D

LOL it was funny to watch...the babies were actually heavier I think than my weight....

I mean...the funny thing should actually be taking a baby instead of a kettle bell of course :D but from some reason, it worked opposite on me :D

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so great. I always hear clients say that they can't get their exercise in at home because of the demands of their kids. But involving your kids in a way that's fun and engaging is an easy solution for that. It also teaches them that exercise can and should be fun...with parents leading by example.

totally agree =) Involving them is the best way =) thanks for watching!!

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64