"Mod Melange" - Live Digitakt Amnesiac-esque Electronic Composition Video on DTube

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This Digitakt-centric piece was an interesting one, initiated in Phoenix and finally performed days later in Portland. I’ve been noodling on the Digitakt sampler for a few weeks now with exclusively my own proprietary 300 sample library I made sampling some of the modules in my modular rig. With the exception of this sweet upright piano I found, recorded on my dictaphone (complete with insane tape noise) and sliced up backstage in Phoenix, everything you are hearing is a one of a kind modular synth sample, meticulously designed and mastered by yours truly. When I finish making demos and beta-testing this library, I’ll be releasing it first on the Steem blockchain at a significant discount (I’m thinking 20 steem?) which seems like a good deal considering the huge amount of fussy editing involved.
IMG_3520.JPG

Unflappable backstage Piano, Phoenix AZ

I’m filming this video days later in a coffeeshop in Portland, OR with an iPhone I'm holding against a glass while trying to perform pattern changes (forgive shakes) and write some realtime modulation to show off what the Digitakt does best: simple melodies and samples layered and performance-locked to infinity. To the Electron uninitiated, performance-locks basically enable you to set any parameter of a sound on a per step basis. Example: full wet long decay reverb on the hi-hats on beat 1, reverb time becomes tiny on step 3, wide open with filter rolled off step 5 and back to default step six. What’s even more bonkers is you can write these steps by enabling record and just jamming on the box. As a huge fan of glitchy Autechre effect modulation, this is an almost endless wormhole to explore. Considering this methodology is employed in all of their boxes, I can’t help but see a monomachine and digitone coming on future tours. I’m streaming multitrack directly into my laptop (convenient for coffeeshop capture) on a single usb cable (amazing) and adding additional effects and modulation to the stems in Ableton to tie the room together.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

DO BANNER.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Drumoperator,
Wow ... Glitch-tastic-beats man - I LOVE it!
The Digitakt looks like an excellent box, awesome for "on the road" productions - and I love your piano, that is a really special sound.

Your Sample pack sounds extremely interesting!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks for the kind words ice! The sample pack has been a way more intense endeavor but only having access to it and whatever I find to sample on the road has been the sort of trial by fire it needed to weed out less useful sounds. I’m prolly gonna add another hundred sounds and cut some clunkers and release next month.

Sat in the sun and listened with a cup of coffee. 🔥😎 Loved it!
Happy travels to you. Resteemed

Thanks Sally! I think my music pairs well with Java.

As always bloody fantastic my friend!!

If you release this as a sample pack that I can use on my Roland 404 then I may well be your first customer!

Does the 404 require specific formatting or can it take .wav files? Most of the sounds you are hearing in this piece are single long sustained notes captured from various oscillator/filter/fx combinations and then sequenced and enveloped in synth like fashion via the Digitakt. I know they are hella useful and full of character with a powerful engine like Digitakts but I want them to be useful on less elaborate machines as well!!

The 404 can take WAVS but they would need to be loops named by BPM so they can be used together. I've tried cutting samples up to create my own loops but it's a very frustrating experience!

Thank you drumoperator! You've just received an upvote of 48% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02