You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: River Thames Cold Therapy | Starting Something Kooky on Twitter to Raise Awareness for Mental Health + Steem + Crypto

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for sharing this, and you experiences @redrica. More does need to be done about raising awareness of mental health and I feel that we are doing that well in the UK at the moment. Where in the River Thames are you jumping in? PS. I am asking as I am a trustee of a charity called the 'London Waterkeeper' and he might be interested to hear of your campaign :)

Sort:  

Thanks @dronegraphica :) And wow!! That charity sounds great! I don't want to say exactly in public (happy to tell you in private), but it's further down the river after Shepperton :)

Pretty much all our neighbours swim in it in the summer!!

Ahh amazing! I was only asking as a matter of your physical health! Shepperton is quite far upstream. If it was further downstream it may be quite dangerous on account of the treated effluent that comes from Mogden sewage treatment works in Twickers. Please don't jump in the Thames anytime after it has rained!

Oh gosh yea... I'm far from Twickenham. I wouldn't want to swim anywhere near there.

And yes the river can get a little bit dirty after the rain, but is there a bigger reason not to? I'd love to chat more to you about this actually, because I was planning on sticking to doing this, as long as it's not crazy storms. Especially since I could just go straight from my mooring and dip in for 2 seconds and come straight back out.

Oh that is good! A quick 2 second dip didn't really hurt anybody eh! Yeah, I would be intrigued to chat more on the subject. Sounds like something I could do as a London Waterkeeper!

Yes! Let's chat more! Are you coming to Blockchain Expo next week? I still need to try and organize a Steem meetup, and could make it one of the days it's on! Would be great to meet you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent, i'd love to meet up! There is a possibility I will be attending that event yes, if so it would be Friday. I'll let you know for sure as soon as I can :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78