From 320,000 Fans on Facebook to Real Community on Steemit > I've made my decision (after 39 glorious days on Steem)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Steem vs. Facebook.jpg

Hey Steemians,

I'm marking my 39th day on Steemit and DTube today. Coming up to the proverbial 40 days in the wilderness.

I have learned how to post lots of content. Some of it stellar. Some of it less than stellar. Some genuinely crappy.

And I have grown to love this place.

BUT WHAT DO I DO WITH MY FACEBOOK PAGE?

Is there a way to bring people over to Steemit, one at a time? Is there a process that will work? I need to start implementing it.

Bottom line, I just don't like Facebook. I don't feel well on it. And recent studies confirm this feeling that I have. Facebook is not a place for us to go to feel better / even though we all feel compelled to open the software with exactly that in mind!

Welcome to decentralized, get-paid-for-your-content-if-it's-good, friendly Steemit and DTube. I'm here for good.

Catch you on the flip side!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Super glad you are excited to be here. I am telling everyone that will listen that the best way to grow Steemit is to grow the steem user base, by word of mouth and promotion. And indirectly I think all users on the Steem platform (Steemit, dTube, Zappl, etc) will be rewarded by a much increased Steem cryptocurrency value.

I wrote today about this very thing if you want to see it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@infidel1258/growing-steemit-how-you-can-help

Great to hear from you @infidel1258. I agree completely. I’ll check out your post.

I am in a similar boat with 60K+ fans on my Facebook page, yet feeling uncomfortably disconnected from the platform. I don't even spend time on FB outside of maintaining my page for the sake of my artwork, & the same goes with Instagram. It's barely tolerable.

It's been this way for years, yet I persevered with Facebook, thinking there was no alternative. Wow, Steemit is pretty interesting. I signed up a few weeks ago but it took me a minute to make my first posts. Nice to make your acquaintance, I'm Victoria. I'm a fiber artist who began her career selling handmade tshirts at Grateful Dead shows back in the day. Props to your acoustic music. I find solace in listening to banjo & bluegrass styles. Thanks for the video. It's nice to see others speak up on this topic as it's impossible to connect with others dealing with the same issue on Facebook, yet I know we can't be the only ones.

Hey @batikwalla, you will love it here! It really is barely tolerable. It's a drudgery!

Steemit is amazing. Reach out to people, and you will see that you can grow quickly. I joined 40 days ago, and I've had incredible things happen, and great people I've met. Cheers! Great to meet you (I'm Kent).

You are an amazing content creator and musician man, Happy you are one of the 80 people im following !

Haha! I’m in the chosen few. That’s awesome!!! Couldn’t be more honored! Love this place.

I need to learn how to game. Sometime I’ll do a comedy video trying ...

Cheers, my friend!

I have the same feeling about Steemit and Facebook. I'm on steemit just a month and have so much more joy and satisfaction then ever on facebook. I was already fed up with al the ad's and creating content for the bigger picture for facebook. And I have to admit that my Facebook content isn't any as interesting as the content what I deliver to steemit.. :) Again, it is so much more fun !!!

There is absolutely no doubt! It’s not like I’m going to close my FB account, but this place is so much more valuable, in every sense of the word!

You are abosolutely right. :) Have a nice day my friend !!

That‘s the silly thing about facebook and was one of the reasons why I already left years ago.
You can have hundres of “friends” or as an commercial account thousands or even like you hundreds of thousands of fans but absolutely no interaction with them.
And here you can have a family with only a hand full of users. It’s great to hear that you’re going all in and much more people should do this as your true fans who want to interact with you in future will follow you as well ;)

That’s exactly right, @liveyourdream! Cheers for the comment. Can’t wait to watch the video of you and Winny later. Would have loved to know you guys when I was living in Germany last year. Lol.

I'm on that boat too!

@gabbyg86 / absolutely! BTW, @sergiomendes and I were thinking you should maybe join our @DTubeDaily group?

It would be an honor @drkent! Um... What do I have to do? Thanks @sergiomendes.

No more rising star. You are the STAR!
Thanks for being such a great person to talk to.

Aw, shucks! Cheers, and right back at you!

I agree on the Facebook thing. Here's an interesting thing: My Steem account was approved last Thursday night. On Saturday morning I had an email notification from Facebook to say a friend had tagged me in a post. This was an actual friend with some musical content. At the end of the day, having spent most of it on the computer, I picked up my phone and saw that notification again. I hadn't opened Facebook ALL DAY! And I hadn't even noticed. That's when I knew I'd found my new platform!

I hear you @camuel :)

The most important now is that here You feel good :D

And You are getting paid to feel good what I think it makes it even better :D ehehhe

So glad to have You here. You make us feel better as well.

Thank you, my friend! I really appreciate it! Thanks for creating the best group ever :)

Ohhhj no... we have created the group. Not me.

Ah yes, it's true :) Cheers my friend!

I just watched several of your recent posts. I kinda dig this one though...feels intimate and personal. I love that you are killing it recently.... and i always find it interesting how something like this that feels personal gets lost in it...actually i get it... but its nice for me to send over the upvote love on this one cause i like the sharing of ideas this one had...
i went through a similar vibe with facebook. I really gave out so much energy and time to that platform for years. then i found steemit in september....and i feel blessed...because facebook just seems to click bate us and chew up our meta data...it somehow makes me feel icky going there now. I still do...as communicating directly with friends is easy, the mechanisms of notification are slick and habits are hard to break. but i give nearly no output personally through posts....and i love the switching of my passion and self to steemit. to something that gives me the feeling of giving and getting of real imput and help. that it is 'ours' is a powerful reality. i hope it always maintains that vibe no matter how big it gets.
on the subject you talked about with bringing friends over via steemit. I noticed something right after i started sending out messages telling people to come over to steemit. facebook seemed to lesson my reach. my own wife stopped seeing my posts. i wrote to a few friends and asked if they had noticed me in there feed lately. everyone could only find my most recent posts by searching directly. facefuck are smart at fucking faces.
anyway...seems you found a solid home here on steemit. glad to be connected. big love, the B

Hey @buttcoins I appreciate this post! It's brilliant, man. We are definitely birds of a feather on this! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37