Is Down-Voting Just As Important As Up-Voting?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Is Down-Voting Just As Important As Up-Voting?


In this Vlog I talk about a the importance of down-voting and the responsibility we all have to use it.

We are adding more and more users and "bots" Everyday. Any issues that we have now, will only be multiplied in the future.- Will spam kill this platform? (Answer in the comments)

No spam will be tolerated on my page. WARNING


You May Also Like:
Is Transparency More Important Than Security?
Rapper Nipsey Hussle Talking Crypto Today On The Breakfast Club!
Likes & Dislikes After 30 Days on Steem



upvotee.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am sure there are reasons to down vote. I would probably move along first unless a post really was offensive or blatantly cheating someone.

I can understand that.

How do you plan on handling spam comments on your content?

I agree with you @digitokash. If we have a good reason to upvote post, we also have reason to down voted it to balance the ecosystem. However, down voting anyone is not as simple as upvoting. Somebody get hurt if you do so, and even worst you will gain enemy rather than friends.

I hear you but I don't want or need any spammers as friends.

Also you made a good point about down votes and they should be use responsibly but they should be used.

@digitokash Now what level of downvote are we talking here?

Mrs. Sanders level of down vote? I do believe there is a place for policing!

May not be fair but like in Mexico you have to pay the cartel for protection otherwise you got jail. I have been caught in the backlash with the H bomb controversy and currently check comments before posting in an attempt to avoid it again.

I haven’t found much I felt like downvoting as of yet, but I’m new any any attention feels good.

LOL.

I am in no way talking about flagging like MR. Sanders. I consider that bullying. Especially if you have more than one account JUST for the purpose of down-voting.

I talking mostly about the spam comments where obviously the person didn't read the post or watch the video.

Well no I didn't watch you video lol, but that's because dtube sucks a big one doesn't play anything for me nearly EVER!

I really don't like saying it but I think this platform is doomed because of that said "bullying" problem. The first platform that solves this issue will be the one that takes over, I do hope steemit can make some changes before its to late.

so does down voting someone else effect your rep?

I expect some changes to be made to address the bullying thing.

And no Not that I know of.

down voting must be for very good reason... i feel like it shouldn't be something people do lightly

Agree. I'm mostly talking about the spammy and fake comments.

There are also some language barriers that cause some of the problems.

I believe down-voting is important as expression of opinion but it should not be abused.

Unfortunately, the way the Steemit system is set up. Down-voting an article also hurts a person reputation. There should be separate system for down-voting on articles and comments. Down-voting articles should NOT affect the persons reputation.

Unless they changed the system, I don't plan to down-vote much. My goal to down-vote is an expression of opinion and NOT a way to rob someone.

Down-voting articles should NOT affect the persons reputation.

It only affects a person Rep if the person is lower . - Example if you down voted this post, the effect on my Reputation would VERY LOW if anything at all because I'm ranked higher than you. That's why reputation is so important its more than just a number.

But I 100% agree, I don't want to Rob anyone. I don't like the idea of someone using their money to take my money or vice versa.

if it helps, i can downvote this, but i see no reason to. =) peace to you all from the Disc Golf courses of Waco, TX

This post has received a 50% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

I wish I could just delete spam comments ... would down voting make them disappear?

It doesn't make it disappear but it makes it harder to see like this:

flag.png

This post has been resteemed by @talhadogan thanks to: @digitokash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54