YouTube VS DTube - Can DTube Replace YouTube? Vlog #2

in #dtube6 years ago



Photo: Taken during my visit to the YouTube space in LA

YouTube VS DTube - Can DTube Replace YouTube?

Hi DTube and SteemIt community, thanks for the warm welcome on yesterdays video!

I wanted to follow up today with where I believe YouTube and DTube will be in the next few months/years and how changes to YouTube will affect DTube, in a good way!

YouTube

In 2017, YouTube has made many changes to the way creators can monetize their content setting themselves up to become a subscription platform in a similar sense to Netflix, Hulu and Amazon. I believe we're in the early stages of YouTube and advertisers slowly not placing advertisements on community content that is easy and cheap to make.

Why?

YouTube wants to reward high-quality content creators such as Rhett and Link, Talk Show Hosts, etc. The issue is that creators spending large amounts of money to create high-quality content are seeing the same, similar, or even less revenue for the same number of views as someone creating a simple and easy to make let's play video game series.

DTube

So what does this mean for DTube? I believe this means we're going to start seeing more and more community content that becomes less monetizable on YouTube, move to other platforms such as DTube and Twitch (donations, subscriptions)

Follow me on: 

SteemIt
https://steemit.com/@derekhowe

Twitter
https://twitter.com/DerekHowe

Dtube

Sort:  

Hi Derek! If you have time, could you make a video on whether or not new people on Dtube should stick to a niche for their content or create a variety of different videos so that they are always producing content.

Great question and fantastic topic to discuss! I will make it one of my video topics to discuss this week, thanks for the suggestion!

I would also like advice on this topic! @jkimura what are your initial thoughts?

Initially, I think it's better to be in a specific niche like in youtube, but I'm not so sure if I can continually produce content on that specific subject every day. I read your introduction post and I noticed that you have 4 youtube channels. If you had to pick only one niche for Dtube, which one would you pick to produce on Dtube?

I do see Dtube as being the next youtube or at least how youtube use to be. We are starting to see a lot of celebrities working with youtubers on promoting any new movies they make. With youtube red, I definitely agree that they are looking to compete with Netflix.

I agree buddy, the market is changing!

Thanks for the read!

It will be interesting if people shift over to DTube. I think the User Interface has to become better to stand up against YouTube.

Agreed 100%. There is a long road ahead to make the navigation and UI more user-friendly for new users. I will be creating videos about a few features that I believe should be implemented as soon as possible.

Agreed. The UI needs works. As a Youtuber myself, I find the experience on YT much smoother right now. But we'll get there!

I just posted my first DTube video today! I can see it growing substantially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89