You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DTube 0.9: Doubling up your rewards

in #dtube5 years ago

A lot of the concerns you mention make a lot of sense. And I'm glad to see you've learned from the mistakes of another dApp! You made a very wise decision here. And you've found ways to make it work, it seems.

My one suggestion: see if you can develop an app that would allow people to set up their own IPFS node easily. If water there's a ton of people who would love a simple interface that is easy to implement and use. Set up a box in a basement with a TB or three of storage, point it at your site with a simple app, assign a folder directory, and let it go. I bet you could get a decent number of people who would gladly step up, especially if it's a lightweight app.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yeah, like... it's actually really easy to set on up, if you can follow the guidelines on the IPFS website. This issue is those guidelines are 20 pages long, with 90% of the content not being relevant to setting up a simple node. For Mac at least, there was basically an all-in-one plugin that handled IPFS management.

Right, and a simplified setup guide or a one-step app would work wonders to spur engagement. Hell, I've got a desktop set aside to do just that, once I can get it figured out.

Yeah, I have a node running on an iMac sitting next to me. It's where i still host my own IPFS video, hence why it can still be found on the site. The setup could definitely be easier, but more importantly better explained.

You can see the direct IPFS link to my video here.

"...develop an app that would allow people to set up their own IPFS node easily."

This!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74