Question the police!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


In around 2010, I made this video and it went viral. A few days after I released it, this man came round with a colleague and forced their way into my home without a warrant and arrested me in broad daylight in front of my wife and young children for ' fleeing the scene of a crime!' I was released without charge but it was a nasty bit of revenge on his part. Although all the legal advice at the time was to sue him, I felt that he had already suffered notoriety and I didnt want to mess with him further.
▶️ Watch on DTube
▶️ Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Having watched hundreds of videos from the US where such power abuse often results in death - it is abundantly apparent that such cases must gain exposure, since without that there is little chance of change occurring. The issue with the policy enforcers is systemic though and so needs to be addressed in the heart to create lasting solutions. That said, individual cases also need to be addressed and the IPCC has long since shown that it is just a front organisation to protect their 'industry'!

I'm all for having functional police forces. I'd prefer they be privatized, but in the absence of that, I'll gladly have a police force tasked with apprehending people who violate my property rights and those of others. On the flip side of that, those police forces must be held to the same liability standard as private persons, as they occupy no greater sphere of rights an a private person. If you fuck up as a cop and arrest someone who is latter released without charge, you should be liable to arrest for false imprisonment. That's on top of the civil liability, which should come from somewhere other than the city coffers outside of police funding.

I'd be very interested to hear why you believe a privatized police force would be a good thing, but I categorically agree with the rest of what you said. I personally think a decentralized robotic police force might be the ultimate solution (solves abuses from central authority while reflecting the will of the people to a better degree).

Oh man, robot police? Inviting disaster there.

Responsible Not, I hax Alls.

Loading...

To be arrested in that way its obviously their unexplained act of power. Just because they can...

There are lot of cases all around the world.

It should be a fine for them doing that. I haven't seen all the footage from beginning and of course there are a lot of people that are doing things intentionally to make them respond.

So, problems will always be both sides.

But in some countries, police level of taking steps is too exaggerated. That means for normal people that are obliged to see force for no reason even in their house, just because of a thought of some authorities.

I think that will become more and more of a problem. Their abuse for even tiny things or just for nothing are going too far.

Eh... it is not so ok if you were arrested... even with all your arguments you give there, in the video.

He should pay for what he did... or the ones who arrested you.

They claim to people to be correct, why they can't do that?
So many times are just ego issues instead of real problems. That's a general human problem.

"Although all the legal advice at the time was to sue him, I felt that he had already suffered notoriety and I didnt want to mess with him further."

That was a terrible mistake. When you meet psychopathic/sociopathic scum like this, never leave them without landing all the blows you can. The only thing evil need to prosper is good people doing nothing. Getting arrested for no reason and not suing is a major threat to the well being of other good people in the society. Just think what would happen if we start being nice to killers. Police have licence to kill.

For the love of humanity: Know Thy Enemy.
Next time don't stop until the bastards are out of job and inside a cell. If not for you do it for the rest of us.

I hear you. Its not so simple because I have a family and he may have taken further revenge.

Safety does come first. It's not a good move if you are not protected. Social media wasn't as big or efficient at the time. So I can understand. It'll be great if there were more organisations like http://www.ij.org/ to pursue such legal cases. Your safety is much solid when you are with a strong group of well informed well connected people.

This is epic!
I watched this years ago in the hight of my freeman education, and I have used this as an example many times when doing my governed by consent rants.
And then all these years later I would end up chatting to you at steemfest without any idea who you were.

Big respect @dannyshine

Followed Upvoted & resteemed


Best video I ve come across so far :-D
The comments are depressing though, slaves attacking other slaves for rebelling against their common oppressors

I did a lot of speeding in my younger years and I've had more run ins with cops than I care to remember, but I was always friendly with them and never tried to play any word games. It's just not worth the trouble.

Just let them write you a ticket and be on your way - don't be a smart-ass, 9/10 times it won't end well for you.

You have to chose your battles with authority. Not every issue can be dealt with at the time it occurs. You obviously did what was best for you at that moment.

I would have sewed. Maybe not him, but the police force or city itself. If this happened to you it has happened before and is probably a common practice.

I remember sitting in an employee review meeting on weather or not to fire someone with 40+ years of experience who made a huge safety error. Most everyone was defending him saying this is the first mistake he's made in 40+ years and the plant manager responded with no this is the first time his mistake almost cost someone there life, but he's probably been doing this for 40+ years. It was an awkward meeting, but definitely makes you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51