You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A request from @utopian-io to simplify open source to non developers !

in #dtube5 years ago

First of all open source just means public development, nothing fancy about it meaning not owned by a company or individual and anyone may copy or contribute freely to the code. Open source is only relative to the code.

As for how to participate I believe their post lays out some things to do with promotion and how it will reward you with votes.

As for how to contribute, way over my head! Biggest problem I am faced with as a simple user, how do I support my developers of onelove? Basically developers don’t do promotion very well or would rather not do it. So all I can really do is help promote, I would think the same for you.

Actually it’s the biggest problem with Steem all together, developers expect us average users to understand what they are doing and how to participate. I can’t even count how many times people have told me to go install something from github, my response every time is “I don’t know how to”. Each time I am told I’m not worth their time, so I just think “screw you too then!”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your comment. Yeah, it seems that I will never understand what they exactly want from us. I just don't like to promote something I don't understand, especially if it's related with money. For that campaign they are gathering $35000 and that's a lot of money for me. It's something like crowdfounding platform for those who understand what's open source is. Most of my followers are not developers I think, so I don't think they will be interested to invest in such thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61