Dtube Exclusive | Hey There Delilah by Plain White T's (Ukulele Cover)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

74BFB1D5-3179-453E-A78A-F9645E37CEBD.jpeg

Hey Guys -

First of all... I want to say THANK YOU to the many people who commented on my post earlier today about writing original music. I was absolutely floored by the amount of quality advice people gave me. I'm excited to start the journey of creating original music.

Don't worry, i'll still be bringing you covers of some of your favorite songs. Especially while I start working original music. I don't want to rush the creative process. :)

"Hey There Delilah" is one of the top 10 ukulele songs right now if you can believe it. My favorite website for getting song tabs is ukutabs.com and they keep a current list of the top 99 songs that people search for on their site. It's a pretty fun way to see what songs other ukulele players are interested in learning.

Want to guess what the number one song ALWAYS is? Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Yep... classic. Are you surprised I haven't covered it yet? Maybe one day... :) The old drama nerd in me wants to wait until there is a literal rainbow in the sky and I can record outdoors with that as the backdrop. It could happen people...

Here are the lyrics for "Here There Delilah".


Hey there Delilah
What's it like in New York City?
I'm a thousand miles away
But girl, tonight you look so pretty
Yes you do
Times Square can't shine as bright as you
I swear it's true

Hey there Delilah
Don't you worry about the distance
I'm right there if you get lonely
Give this song another listen
Close your eyes
Listen to my voice, it's my disguise
I'm by your side
Oh it's what you do to me

What you do to me

Hey there Delilah
I know times are getting hard
But just believe me, girl
Someday I'll pay the bills with this guitar
We'll have it good
We'll have the life we knew we would
My word is good

Hey there Delilah
I've got so much left to say
If every simple song I wrote to you
Would take your breath away
I'd write it all
Even more in love with me you'd fall
We'd have it all

Oh it's what you do to me

A thousand miles seems pretty far
But they've got planes and trains and cars
I'd walk to you if I had no other way
Our friends would all make fun of us
And we'll just laugh along because we know
That none of them have felt this way

Delilah I can promise you
That by the time we get through
The world will never ever be the same
And you're to blame

Hey there Delilah
You be good and don't you miss me
Two more years and you'll be done with school
And I'll be making history like I do
You'll know it's all because of you
We can do whatever we want to
Hey there Delilah here's to you

This one's for you


I love the lyrics from this song, it's such a beautiful story of love and hope. Thanks so much for watching and I hope you guys enjoyed today's cover! <3



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've always loved this song. Something about the melody just speaks to my soul. Thanks for the link for ukelele tabs. I play guitar, but my hubby got a nice tenor ukelele he's been tinkering on, and all 4 kids have ukelele's, so we'll definitely be checking that page out. I've got a sleeping boy next to me and no earbuds, but I'll definitely give this a listen tomorrow. Peace!

Wow, that’s so cool that you have an army of ukulele players!! Ukutabs.com is my FAVORITE site for music. It gives you all of the chords at the top of the song, and allows you to transpose music easily. This is really valuable, because you can often find an easier version of the song just by going up or down a half step.

Have fun playing around on the site with the kids! :-)

Very good, many people are really eager to get what they want from you! Also I've visited the website and seen many songs. I'd also like to tell people to calm down, we'll surely get what we want from you. This song you dropped is really completely awesome, thanks so much, I'm always impressed with any post that comes from your blogs, I make sure I visit @shinebright too to get some daily goodies.
Thanks, I remain your fan!
HAPPY NEW MONTH

Aww THANK YOU for subscribing to shinebright too! I have been a little lazy about posting this week, but I usually post a couple times a day on there.

I’m so glad you enjoyed my cover!

Beautiful girl with beautiful voice. So talanted, great video and song !

Aww thank you!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

wow this was awesome! Great job. My daughter has been talking about getting a ukulele and I think this video may have just inspired me to get her one.

Aww that makes me smile!! The ukulele is such a fun instrument and it’s really easy to learn. I bet she would love it!

You have a beautiful voice! So cool to see another musician doing covers on Dtube :) Subscribed!

Thanks @brendube!! I’m so glad you enjoyed my cover of this song. 😊 I’ll have to go check out your covers too!

Throwing it back! Brings me back to middle school..

I feel ya! High school for me though. 😜

beautiful lyrics I like your previous psot also and follow you keep it up You are doing good i wish you all the best

@coruscate ah everyday that feeling! So trust me i am most sure right now that when you fly our spaceship i will be second under your authority! I believe you with everything! Thanks for the everyday dose of inspiration @coruscate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44