I Decided To Marie Kondo My Clothing

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I've been workin on a big project today... going through and purging my clothes. It was a big undertaking... but was something I really felt inspired to do thanks to Marie Kondo. In this video - I take you on the journey with me as I sort and organize my clothing!

The Konmari Method of Tidying Up


So i'm not the most organized person. The funny thing is, I don't actually own that much stuff because I can easily let go of things... but I just tend to let them build up and need to purge every so often. Especially when it comes to my clothes.

Even though I went through my clothes a few months ago when I moved, I don't think I really did a good job of cutting things out. Enter Marie Kondo...

I've been getting really inspired by watching episodes in her Netflix series about only keeping items that spark joy. Although she has plenty of tips and tactics to keep an organized home... this is the basic premise that everything is based on. She recommends honoring the items in your home by displaying them in a way that will spark joy for you.

If home organization is either something that you need, or something that interests you - I'd highly recommend checking out her book or watching the Netflix show!

Shots From the Day



IMG_4063.jpg

The big before pile!

IMG_2690 6.JPG

A little nervous to get started...

IMG_4106.jpg

The "Yes" pile after sorting. Wow, that is still a lot of joy!

IMG_4113.jpg

Got rid of 5 bags of stuff! Front two are trash and the other 3 are going to be sold at consignment store.

IMG_4112.jpg

Learned how to properly fold my jeans.

IMG_4109.jpg

And my shirts! Like a true steemian... I spy a steem, steem monsters, crypto babe and Goldmoney shirt!

Has Anyone Else Tried This?



Since the Netflix documentary came out... literally every girl in our office has been doing this and a few guys too. I see it everywhere on my other social media channels. Has anyone else tried the Konmari method with organizing? Now that I've gone through my clothes - I'll move on to next phase of organizing.

Happy tidying to you all!

XO, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

hi @coruscate , a month ago i saw your singing, so here is your chance to win 1000SP Delegation for 1 month! it's a great deal huh hehe :) full details in the link below , i hope you be a part of this contest :)

https://steemit.com/contest/@cityofstars/the-biggest-contest-ever-or-win-1000sp-delegation-by-your-music

I wear two shirts and have a few pair of underwear. What the hell is all that?

⚡$$$ Tipped @coruscate ⚡100.00000000 SWIFT! If you don't know how I work, reply help! Currently the price of SwiftCash in the market is $0.0020 USD per SWIFT. Current value of the tip is $0.2000 USD. To find out more about SwiftCash, please read our whitepaper!

Will be watching this later... Actually yesterday heard about her for the first time and saw a video about it 😉 excited to see if it worked for You ehehhe

Posted using Partiko Android

I will need to block this show from my wife as it would results in half of my wardrobe and office items being gone before I am back home!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did the same thing after watching the Netflix series and got really motivated by it ! It sure feels great when you create space and get rid of clutter. Are you into minimalism ? Anyway, nice to discover your videos :)

My best way to order clothes, is to tell my mother to order it is more efficient for me hahaha.

Good job! I see people all around social media doing this, and I didn't know why everyone decided to declutter now (well, the beginning of the new year may be one of the reasons), but now I know that it's because of the Netflix series :D

I, personally, don't have too many clothes to begin with, so I don't need to do this kind of decluttering. Also, I usually go trough all of my clothes twice a year, when the season changes from winter to summer or from summer to winter.

In winter, I keep my summer clothes in the box and my winter clothes in the closet and then, at the beginning of summer I switch them (I have the spring/fall items in the closet all year around). That way, I don't have summer stuff cluttering my closet in winter and vice versa. It also gives me the chance to decide which items I want to keep for the next season, and which I want/need to get rid of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84