My Four Month Anniversary on Dtube // Let’s Talk Consistency and Facing Your Fears

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

This morning when I was getting ready for work – I realized that I had reached the 4 month mark of posting on Dtube every day! In this vlog, I share my Dtube journey and how my content style has changed and evolved over time. I also discuss two things that I think are really important for success anywhere on Steemit… whether you are posting on Dtube, straight to Steemit, or any other application of the Steem blockchain.

My Dtube Journey and Evolution


I have been on the Steemit platform for 8 months, which means posting on Dtube has made up about half of my journey here. When I first joined the platform, I was actually posting mostly travel and food blogs! I was pretty proud of the content I was putting out – but I realized that I didn’t love it. My posts would be filled with rich photos, huge write-ups, and some fun GIF’s. Each post would usually take between 6-9 hours to make. There is nothing wrong with that if you are passionate about it…but I realized that when I was on a trip or out to dinner in a cool restaurant – I was spending all of my time taking photos and thinking about my post instead of just enjoying the moment.

When I decided to stop doing posts like that, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do. I realized that my favorite posts every week were the ones I did for #openmic! I had been hearing a little about Dtube and decided to try posting a music cover on there. I did Creep by Radiohead on my ukulele. I had SO much fun that I decided to keep rolling with that. I spent the next couple months posting basically nothing but music covers! I was having a total blast…but a couple months in, I started to feel like I wanted to contribute to the platform in a deeper way. I loved making music posts – but I wanted my channel to have more than just entertainment value.




The problem was… I had no idea what I wanted to talk about. I didn’t want to go back to food and travel blogs. It occurred to me that I love watching vlogs, and so I thought I would try my hand at that. Honestly, my first few vlogs were pretty rough, and I wasn’t super consistent about creating them. I would randomly sprinkle them in between my music posts.

Once I really started committing to vlog creation – I saw growth. I got way more comfortable getting in front of the camera and my video editing skills quickly improved to match the demand for this new content. Once I got started too… the issue of “not knowing what to talk about” disappeared as well. It’s amazing how once you get the ball rolling, it’s much easier to keep going.

After eight months total on Steemit, and four months on Dtube – I finally feel like I’ve found my sea legs. I just wanted to share my story in case it can be helpful or inspirational for anyone else. It can take a while to find your groove, and there is nothing wrong with that. It is all a journey and there is so much value in just getting started.

Consistency


If you want to build momentum with your blog, posting consistently really does make a difference. It’s not always easy. In fact, this vlog was filmed at 5:30am before I left for work and I am uploading it on my lunch break. Find the moments in your day that you can carve out for content creation – and then try to stick to it. I promise that once you get the ball rolling – it’s much easier to keep going.

If you feel uncertain as to what you want to post about… maybe consider keeping a journal of ideas. As you think of something – jot it down! Start with topics that you feel really passionate about. Ask yourself… what could I easily talk about for 5-10 minutes off the top of my head? That’s a great indicator that you have knowledge and passion in that subject and it would be a great topic for you to share about.

Embrace the Journey and Face your Fears


It seems like one of the biggest things that holds people back from posting is feeling like they need to have everything figured out before they start. As you can see with my story… my content was an evolving journey. Trying to figure things out beforehand is only going to keep you from moving forward. It’s okay to test the waters with certain topics to see if you like posting on them and what kind of response you get from your followers. I’ve done a ton of that. Sometimes I think I’m going to LOVE posting about something – and then it didn’t end up being my favorite. Sometimes you never know until you try.

Drumroll Please... I have Posted a Total of 152 Videos on Dtube!


I felt like I had to scroll for days on my page to get back to the beginning. I had no idea how much I would enjoy making video content when I first started. 152 videos later... I'm still loving it.

Thanks to the Dtube Dev Team


This post wouldn’t be complete without a huge shout-out to @heimindanger and the entire Dtube team. I can’t thank you enough for all of your support and encouragement over these last four months. I am also really impressed with how much improvement I have seen on the platform since I first started posting. There have been several major updates that have really improved the site and I have full faith in you guys that this platform will only continue to improve and grow.

Cheers to the next four months!

Final Thoughts


I just want to say thanks to everyone who has been part of my journey here so far and I hope you enjoyed hearing a bit more of my story! If you have any questions for me – please don’t hesitate to leave them below. I am always open to answering questions and try to be as helpful as I can.

Xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Happy to watch this journey @coruscate :) Congratulations on another milestone passed. I think people have no idea how hard it is to do what you are doing every day!

Thank you for your constant support and encouragement! It really means a lot to me. 😊

Its easy when your a fan:)

Congrats on 4 months! I always enjoy your videos

Aww thanks @drewley! You are always so encouraging. 😊

It's been so great watching your journey! Gearing up to start a little Vlogging myself... eek it's a little nerve wracking but you've been an inspiration 💗

Oohh I cannot wait to see your Vlog’s!! I have no doubt that you will absolutely crush it. 🙌🏻

If you ever have questions or need help, don’t hesitate to reach out!

Thank you!! Yes I totally may take you up on that :)

Great post packed with wisdom for all new comers, and some older ones too! ;)

Congratulations on your accomplishments and thanks for this sharing.

Namaste :)

Consistency is key. Great to have you as part of the team!

Thanks for the warm welcome @onelovedtube!! 😊

Wow 4 months straight! Congrats :)

Thanks @phototutorials! It has definitely been a crazy ride! 😊

Congrats on the milestone!

omg I was just thinking about this yesterday cos my hubby was saying my content is currently unpredictable and I said yes I know and I didnt know what I wanted to do to have consistency.. I did suggest that I probably should split up my content onto another channel... argh I have too many interests!!! I love hearing about other people's journeys! Thank you for sharing!
I think I do want to do vlogs too but also don't know where to go!
I also love singing and Only just discovered the openmic thing from you last night haha.. omg tooo much stuff! lol

I totally get where you are coming from and I’m glad you found some inspiration from my story! I have chosen to post multiple types of content on my blog, but I know some people prefer to segment into different channels. It’s kind of a personal preference.

Also, open mic is so fun!! It’s a great community to be part of.

coruscate hi amazing so beautiful

congratulations for achieving desired objectives on steemit platform. its really ravishing and foxy post. Decided to follow you keep in touch. Honestly speaking influences others is much difficult act. You have proved and you have guts to be up there. Well wishes for you from myside

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38