DtubeDance // Shape of You (Acoustic Version) - Improv Dance

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


My first dance video on Dtube...say whaaa??

I have been dancing West Coast Swing for close to 10 years and it is a real passion of mine. I love the creativity, the connection and the friendships I've built over the years.

What is West Cost Swing?

It is a partner dance that is based solely on partner connection. There are leaders and followers that move together to the beat of the music. Now, it may sound like leaders have all the power, but followers can add their own movement and flavor to the dance. Ideally, both partners are listening to the music and creating movement that flows naturally with the rhythm of the song.

I love this dance because it can be danced to such a large variety of music. Anything from blues to pop to lyrical music can work well for this dance.

You may notice it is a linear dance, meaning that it moves in a slotted pattern (almost like dancing on railroad tracks). This is different from most other dances like east coast swing or salsa that tend to dance in a circular pattern.

B6EDF7FE-F4BB-471A-BF49-78A953A75BDE.gif

Why Improv?

This is the heart and soul of this dance. Although choreographing routines can be fun and very rewarding - the sweet stuff happens in the connection. I love stepping onto the dance floor without knowing who I will dance with or what the song will be. Once I start dancing with someone, the whole goal is to see what magic we can create together during the next three minutes of the song. Oh... and to have fun. Always to have fun!

Where was this recorded?

Some of you may have seen my post yesterday about Prepping for my DJ Gig where I talk all about DJ'ing for west cost swing dances. I snagged someone after the dance to do a quick recording with me. We were all tired from dancing for several hours straight, but he was a champ and recorded with me! I hope to post more recordings in the future and will try to grab someone to record with more often.

0C33A246-CAF6-414E-8B82-D324622E5F2B.gif


Big thanks to my dear friend Edoh for dancing with me in this video! He's not on Steemit yet, but you guys would love him. He's a math professor at a university that sometimes rocks an afro and loves to dance.

I hope you guys enjoy this improv dance performance to Shape of You by Ed Sheeran! By the way... if this is the first time you are hearing the acoustic version of that song... go download it. I actually prefer it over the original!

A55D07CA-8B18-4CD0-B4B3-B7C6B5136F5F.gif

Let's turn really fast he said... it will be fun he said...

Thanks so much for watching. Love you guys! ❤️



A Few of My Recent Posts


Why Joining Steemit and Dtube was the Best Decision I Made in 2017
Preppin' for my DJ Gig Tonight - My Approach + Full Set List
Keep Hustlin’ Hard... But Don’t Forget to Enjoy the Ride

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You are one mega talented plus pretty lady!

I enjoy your ukelele videos and now dancing too? Wowzer 👍👍👍👍

Aww thank you so much @thekitchenfairy!! That is so sweet of you! 😊

I got to say I kinda envy the smooth moves y'all doing. Looks fun and can't go wrong with that song.

Hehe right m? I can’t get enough of this song! Especially the acoustic version . 😍

Thanks so much for watching!

Really smooth dancing you two :D

Hehe thank you @chrispy99! 😘

I have always loved dancing ... really good dance good health and dance full of emotions

Yes, it is one of the great joys in life!

I'm really impressed.i fell in love with your dance for my fav song shape of you😘😘.

I’m so glad you enjoyed it!! I love this song too... it never gets old!

Resultado de imagen para thank you for your attention presentation gif

Hahah I’ll save you a dance sometime. 😜

Resultado de imagen para dancing brasil gif

I wish you would grant me that beautiful happiness

Nice dance :)

Thank you so much @tiffanyrej!

Wow amazing dance and your dance moves! Love to see it !

you looks so sweet...........sooooooo cool.......... @coruscate

Thanks friend!

wow amazing!!
I will follow and voting you ^^

Aww I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46