Open Mic Week 142 - The Other Side - ORIGINAL SONG

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

cowcover.jpg


Long time open mic, what it is! This is a brand new song, hot of the presses, a cow love song of sorts... loosely inspired by real life events of late when one of the Texas longhorns in the pasture behind my house pushed its way through the fence to get at the bales of hay stacked up on the other side of the fence (see photographic evidence above!). At the time there was not, in fact, an electric fence, but this cow's shenanigans resulted in an electric fence being installed!

Lyrics after the break.

Youtube link:

The Other Side LYRICS

The grass is greener on the other side
and the weeds grow tall and straight
the hay bales are piled, high to the sky
on the other side of the fence

I'm entranced by you, the other side
I'm intoxicated by your view
the electric fence gives a powerful jolt
but a powerful urge pulls me through

In the shade of a tree, you pine for me
it is plain for anyone to see
next to the ditch, where the water trickles by
and a cool breeze blows away all the flies

In the last fading light, I call to you
and it bounces from the mountain side
in the dead of the night, I will be by your side
on the other side of the fence


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


My songwriting setup tonight - a decent enough amber ale (albeit only 4% alcohol by volume, the max allowed for sale in Utah grocery stores), a post-it note and pen to write lyrics, my old beat up Yamaha acoustic with a capo on the 5th fret and a beautiful mountain and countryside for a back yard. The white cow you can see in the distance is the one that broke through the fence :)

Sort:  

I am telling you, these cows are the real deal :) I don't think I ever imagined I would be feeling inspired by cow romance and cow dreams but damned if life isn't strange thing.

Cows seem to keep coming into our lives, just ask Vache 😂🐂

Posted using Partiko Android

A modern prairie transporter song.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love it!
The other side can look better but it helps to understand and appreciate your own side first. :)

Yes, well, I am not contemplating romantic relations with the cows if that is what you are implying so you can rest easy at night ;)

Pah!
Oh I'm resting easy!

On the runway!

The GIF game is strong in this one! Wow! That cow is fancy!

Yea...I might have had a couple beers.
🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺

Your songs are always a breath of fresh air, Carl :>)

You(r music) remind(s) me somewhat of A Man Called E / Eels and I believe I've said that before.

Your song, in turn, reminds me of a joke I learnt - and told - as a kid, about a bull called Hannibal, who's interested in cows in a neighboring field. They keep calling him and after he finally makes the jump, he replies that they can just call him Hanni as his balls are still hanging on the barb wire.

I love the mountain view, it's the next level compared to the mountains I see from my Portuguese balcony. Although my view isn't too shabby either:

IMG_0897.JPG

P.S. I love the look of that beer and the little story underneath your photo.

I hope you're well!

Um grande abraço desde Portugal,

Vincent

Ha that is a great joke/story! Man I had no idea cows could jump so high, the second time this cow got out it got spooked by someone coming up the driveway and ran and jumped the fence (on the way out it had just pushed through a weak spot). Seriously took me by surprise to see it get off the ground and easily clear the fence. Although I suppose, shouldn't be a surprise, given the nursery rhyme about the cow jumping over the moon.

It wasn't a joke but a real life story. Have you never met a talking cow/ bull?

Man I had no idea cows could jump so high

I had ;>)

All kidding aside, you don't expect it from an animal looking like that. I guess our eyes can only see so much.

Have an awesome weekend, Carl!

hey I really liked your song a lot, you motivated me to dust my guitar, and play and participate in the open microphone. perfect song, how beautiful is to compose

medit.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43