DTube Audio Quick Tips to Up Your Game

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Let's talk audio and some quick tips to up your DTube game and make your content even that much better! Today we will talk about:

  • Levels
  • How to match them and watch them
  • effects that will make your audio sound cleaner and take out the peaks
  • Quality control - listen, listen, listen closely

Hope you enjoy the video.

With Gratitude,
Captain Bob

Steemit Divider.png

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Brad_Beaird
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bradbeaird/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the tips! Very helpful!

Great video. Thanks for the tips. I'll look into the equipment. Please check out my intro video guys and give me some tips on how I can make the lighting and audio sound better. https://steemit.com/fitness/@mynsf/77g6xrik

Let's support each other as well. I'll follow and resteem.

Thanks

I watched the Zoe Fitness video and I think the lighting isn't too bad, but your audio could be better. I would suggest perhaps one of two things. Either put a lapel mic on your subject, which doesn't have to be super expensive or get a mic stand and hang a boom mic over the subject, zoom that camera in a bit closer and put the mic just out of the top of the frame. It will help your audio be clearer, and reduce that echo a bit. Those a just a couple of initial tips.

Thanks alot Cap! Yout got my follow!

Hey thanks and welcome aboard! Happy to help anytime or give you feedback. I truly want to see everyone improve!

Looks like Premier Pro has better inbuilt sound editing that FinalCut Pro. You'd have to purchase extra plugins in the version I have. I think the latest version released recently has really improved audio editing, but I wouldn't know :)

That could be as I've not used FCP since I'm a PC guy. Hoping just folks paying attention to their audio levels will help improve their videos. There are some I watch, as I said, that are almost impossible to hear.

Thank you for this man!

You are very welcome. Nice to see you around man :)

Thank you for these tips - much needed!

You are very welcome! Thanks for watching!

Great tips Cap! Audio levels and mixing is one of those things that's really hard to get right until you've been told what works best. I push mine to try to average -6 but still not clip because it's really frustrating when I'm watching a video on a phone or something and its too quiet with everything at full volume.

Thanks Jeff. I know you're hiding some of these tips that you need to make some videos on man! I need to learn some stuff from you dude!

That motivated me to go back to the computer this evening, open up my latest video in iMovie again and just play around with all those different settings.
Until now I only worked with volume levels and fades but I’ve seen that even iMovie has a lot more options to enhance the overall audio quality. I really like the sound in your videos. No background noise and a clear and strong voice. Thanks!

Hey man that's exactly what I was trying to accomplish! I just want people to start making it a part of the process on every video. One of those check list items should be audio and what do I need to do to make my audio sound and be better!

Yeah, I have something like a to-do-list on my mind. And audio is the upcoming one. I already found some nice pages with royalty and copyright free music, then I wanted to play around a little bit with sound effects in upcoming videos and of sound quality adjustments.
There are still so many more things which I want to try out that haven’t been any topic for me yet.
Like color corrections for example. But I don’t want to rush. Everything step by step and mastering some new skills and make them become a habit just like you said.

Hey man @captainbob thank you so much for this video. I can see you use the info you gave in your own video as your quality is really clean. I have a quick question for you.

I have been trying to self-produce some music on my windows laptop but the quality is always coming out poor. I am using Audacity to produce the music. Do you know of any better tool that I could use on windows or do you have a tutorial on Audacity that could help?

Thanks in advance.

King Anima.

Most folks I know doing self production of music are using Adobe Audition. I personally haven't used it much because most of my work is in video, but I would suggest you have a look at it as a tool to help you. You should be warned that like all these tools, you have to invest some time to learn them and it can be quite time consuming haha.

Awesome man! Great tips!
And your audio is on point!
:)

Wow. I'm going to give this a go. God know I have a lot of BG noise. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70