Raising Renegades: Noodle Sensory Bin

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


If you haven't discovered sensory bins, I highly recommend introducing them into your play. They stimulate toddlers imagination, creative thinking, and problem solving. The world of sensory bins is endless.

Sensory bins are exactly what they sounds like, activities that engage the five senses.

 
High tech toys have taken over playrooms with the promise of keeping our kids occupied and entertained. Some of these gadgets are certainly educational, but I have to wonder if the tech flood is overstimulating and, inevitably, stagnating creative learning.

Many tech-based toys have a preconceived objective that requires specific execution. When parents understand the objective they become eager to teach their kids how to play with the toy instead of letting their child learn and discover on their own.

My personal experience with tech toys is that they either become so overly engaged that a monumental meltdown occurs when the time comes to move onto another activity or the toy becomes a climbing apparatus and, obviously, I encourage the climbing.

Noodles

I was so excited for this bin that I gave it to them first thing in the morning. Rookie mistake. I couldn't pull them away. They've spent hours playing with this simple bin and nearly three months later, it's still a favourite.

Play is learning!

 
While sensory play may be put together with an objective, the outcome that arises from intuitive play is much more flexible. We can offer guidance and suggestions but the ultimate goal is to allow your kids to explore, imagine, and learn. Some of the most exciting play has taken place when I've removed my expectations and let the kids lead the way.

Watch the video to find out how many different ways you can play with noodles!

Stay tuned for a follow up post on how much this bin cost to put together and how to dye your own noodles!

All photos and illustrations in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


20180516_002249_0001.png

Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What a great idea! I am going to add this to the toy collection for kids when they come visit. It will be great to learn how to dye the pasta. It looks so much more fun and appealing in all the colors. Nice creation Mama ❤

Thank you! The colours really are appealing, aren't they? It's a very fun and versatile activity. How old are the kids that will be using the noodles? Let me know how they like it. -A

wow! this is a pretty sweet idea. I'm not sure I have heard of the term sensory when it comes to toys. We kept it pretty low tech with ours. We didn't do anything that required batteries. It has led to the most amazing imaginative ideas. I can't wait to see the things your little bundles will create!

We invite you to use the community tag #innerblocks, and join us on the best Self Reliant Dapp on the blockchain! You can also find us here on Discord

Thanks! I was pretty pleased with how this turned out. I am incredibly impressed that you managed no battery operated toys. Did youset rules with gifts? We do have battery operated toys but they were all graciously gifted to us. I tend to tuck them away and only reintroduce them occassionally or when the kids find their hiding location. Ha ha! Imagination is a powerful tool and I want the kids to exercise theirs as much as possible. -A

Great idea - sometimes simple things are better :)

Yes! I have found that to be true more often than not. Thanks for stopping by. -A

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 66255.12
ETH 3564.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15