How to paint with a roller.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Have you ever watched those DIY shows on the Home Network? I can’t tell you how many times I have been watching one of those shows and I find myself commenting in frustration when I watch some of these people painting walls. They will literally stand in front of a wall with the roller in their hand and just randomly roll the wall in different directions. It is as if they have no plan as to how they are going to paint the wall and clearly, no one has taken the time to show them how to do it properly.


This way will take forever
Image result for painting wall
Source

It just so happened that I had a painting job to do yesterday and after watching one of these shows the other day I decided I must put together a video to show how to roll a wall properly. If you know the correct technique then rolling a wall can go very quickly. Once you have the wall properly cut in you can whiz through painting it.

The first thing you need to know is that a roller is much more effective when attached to a pole. The pole gives you more reach and allows you to cover more area when rolling the paint on. Very rarely do I ever hold the roller in my hand unless I am in a tight spot where there is not enough room for the pole to fit. When preparing to start rolling you want to make sure you get your roller nice and full with paint. The roller should feel heavy and be very wet but now so much that is is running off the roller or dripping too much.


IMG_1484.PNG

When you are ready you are going to going to start by painting a large Vone the wall from the point where you want to start. This will spread out all of that paint that you have on your roller. Once you have done this, you will roll back through the V to evenly spread the paint all over the surface area you are working on. You should work your roller from the top of the wall to the bottom and keep our rolling lines even. You want to spread the paint our as much as possible so that there is a nice smooth coverage with no drips. With a good full roller, you can cover a large amount of wall space.

So next time you are painting remember that you want to use a V when rolling your paint onto the wall. I hope this video has been helpful and good luck with your next DIY painting job.


Animated_GIF-downsized_large_23.gif
Created by @hansenatortravel


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

100% upvote from @betgames , happy thanksgiving thursday. Thanks for delegating some SP to us. Delegate more to @betgames and get free upvotes!

@betgames

I've toyed with smaller rollers and edgers as well to make the whole 'roller the walls around trim' easier. I have a lot of interior painting on my list for next Spring, so I might be bookmarking this one!

Efficiency and speed is important but always work clean. 😉

Woah this is awesome! lol I had know idea there was a special technique for rollers as well. I loved the last trim video you did. haha great job man!

Yeah, always looking for the fastest and most efficient way to get the job done. I can't imagine how long it must take some of the people who do it without a pole or with just random rolling.

hahaha story of my painting life...random rolling....lol

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Where were you last time I had to paint walls? It took me forever! :')

Lol, now you knows 😉

I had a buddy once who tried to tell me using a pole will slow the job down...lol, that was one hard-headed dude. Good video brother. 👍

Bahahahahaha... challenge him to a race.

Very good video, it is very entertaining.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93