You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Are Too Many Old Farts On Here

in #dtube6 years ago

Not just Old Farts but mainly Basement Dwelling Anonymous Sharts reside here.

I talked about this in a previous video I did about always worrying that it was mainly older people who were attracted to STEEM and particularly people in their 40s and 50s. Around the 5 minute mark was where I kind of talked about this.

The college aged people and younger kids have no interest in this place. One commenter said something that resonated a lot. He said that on YouTube you don't necessarily have to buy your influence but on STEEM you have to buy your way into having influence and younger people don't have any money. So we don't get the younger generation wanting to pull any type of following here.

Sort:  

Yes, it's concerning that a bunch of 35-50 years that don't even know what's in style anymore are talking about how amazing this social media platform is. I see that as odd.

If I am talking about DTube, I think it looks very outdated and plain. The interface is too basic. The password situation on Steem is also off-putting to a lot of people. I think this place also comes off as "too serious" for a lot of people. It isn't a place where you can just fuck around and have fun. If the whole influence thing you mentioned is what is discouraging teenagers here, then maybe blogging isn't what will make this place successful.

These problems definitely exist, but I hope to do my part to rectify them.

Even back in 2016 I was concerned with some of these issues and there was a period of time in mid 2017 that it seem like things might be turning around and we were getting more diversity and a little better age range on the lower end but it quickly faded. More issues stacked up and it really breaks people's back when they feel they are starting to get somewhere but then the value collapses and their time has effectively eroded away.

That was one of the reasons why I created the @pranks account and was working on getting pranksters to form a community here but even my friend @gilstraptv wouldn't post here even with all the issues of getting demonetized on YouTube

Good luck with everything. I have given up on trying to change things here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41