Learning the Art of Keeping Bees -- Video Two

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

BeePackInstallClose.jpg

This is the second step to install a bee package in your new hive. There are two videos in this post, each will show half of the process.

In this video, I drop the bees into their new home. There are approximately 4,000 bees in this package--and it always is a bit exciting to get them into their new home.


Before this step, I already installed the queen cage. Right before I start the drop, you can see her little cage inside the hive box.

PandaStripe.jpg

Here is my beekeeping book on Amazon: The Beekeeper's Guide: Fun and Simple Steps to Apiary Success and Self Sufficiency

© 2013, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures and video come from my phone--

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction and beekeeping tips.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very interesting post!

Beekeeping can be a very profitable business. but when you know what you are doing.

It is a fact that the world is in need of honey bees since they help in the pollinating of plants and the honey produced is consumed by humans in it’s raw form and can be processed to make natural sweeteners....Thanks for this great and useful lesson

Yes it can. I don't really make any money doing it--mostly I just give the honey to family and friends. But I love taking care of the bees and I feel like I am helping nature just a bit by keeping my hives.

You are so generous by that way.
Thanks to you for helping nature.

I do not understand how to take care of bees, and frankly I was afraid of bees. because ever I experienced a bleak incident for me while cleaning my garden suddenly a bunch of bees attacked my body, so almost all my body bumps due to bee sting, especially part of my face. I accidentally destroyed the nest, I do not see the beehive because it is hidden in the leaves of the trees. I'm afraid of bees 😊

I enjoyed the first post, had to download it on my drive... I thought this part won't be released!... So glad am mistaken!... Thanks for this @bigpanda


Happy Steeming

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the first one so much you came back for the second.

Happy Steeming to you as well!

i like dtube channel..thanks for sharing homesteading..best of luck.

Thanks! I've got a few more videos I want to share about beekeeping but it may be a few weeks before I get them totally ready.

most welcome my dear!

Thank you very much for sharing the knowledge about bee-keeping techniques. Good luck always for you @bigpanda.

Thanks my friend. Have a lovely day.

You are welcome my friend 😊.

Bee maintenance is very difficult

It can be--or it can be fairly easy once you know how to do the steps. That is one reason I'm sharing videos--I think it is easier to do something once you have actually seen it done.

@bigpanda this is a great, you are so good in this enjoy and learn all you can. Have a incredible day

So kind of you to say, thanks! May you have a fantastic day as well.

interesting

Great work bro. Can i please have some fresh honey 😍

Let's talk in September after the new harvest--maybe I'll have a bit I can send your way. :)

Much appreciated bro. Cheers 🍻🥂

As always, @bigpanda you delivered a marvellous post which i really enjoyed....honestly im not sure i would have understood much if you had just written it out, but with the video it was easy to see how it was done. I'm still scared of bees though so i won't be starting a bee farm anytime soon😥, but im glad to atleast have the know how😏....so thanks once more.

Infact i liked it so much i will probably do a quick write up on bees so my followers will know a lil bit about that......also do you mind if i resteem your post?

Absolutely you can resteem--and thanks!

I agree-I can read something five or six times and still not be able to visualize the process--but if I can see it once, I typically can do it myself after that. The power of a picture (or in this case a video :) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56