Welcome to Earth - Deja View

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Welcome to Earth - Déjà View

This is the first version of the Welcome to Earth series of art pieces.

To make it I took apart a VHS tape of the movie Independence Day. I took one end of the tape and put it in one VHS cassette and the other end in another VHS tape and cut holes in the cartridges.

I put the two cassettes into two VCR machines. I left less than one minute of tape between the machines. Then I took the output from both and ran them into one TV. By pressing play on both machines the two signals got mixed up in the TV to give this banding effect.

More to come in this series. At some point I will show some shots of my recording "rig".

After this I made some animated gifs at:
Crash Twice
Cigar
Then I turned one of those into an analog flip movie for those locations without electronics.
Cigar - analog


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That sounds interesting.. so in what format was the output and can you still watch the movie anf draw the same conclusion? @bardionson

I recorded the TV screen with an iPhone. So it was in a .mov file.

I can explain it better with pictures in a longer post. I only did this for a few minutes at a time looking for interesting effects. I did not watch the whole movie this way. This was the most interesting bit with the spacecraft crashing over and over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45