You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem Sister Show - Episode 64 // New Years Resolutions

in #dtube5 years ago

Ah.... no photo-shopped confetti at the end? I'll tell you, your CGI guy needs a good talking to.

So... I've turned all the notifications on my phone off, all of them, and it's so much better... I do miss calls occasionally, but who even calls people these days, it's so intrusive... I do get annoyed with my partner if she gets her phone out if we're out at a restaurant.. and she's slowly learning not to... she'll grab it to fact check something, and then will go down the rabbit-hole of checking messages or whatever, so I'm just sitting at the table staring around, so awks. I've been at dinners where everyone but me is on their phones, and I totally hate it...

Have you ever seen anyone on their phone do something silly?

I saw a girl walk and fall into a water art display thing - she got soaked, her phone got soaked, it was kind of amazing.

Did your family impact your careers or university course selection at all?

My partner wanted to do a full music degree, but her parents were 0% keen so she compromised with a double degree music/commerce.

Sort:  

Well, usually, I'll check my phone as well until I get bored then if she keep infinitely browsing on her phone I just do activities that I like by myself or I go to the restaurant with someone else. I hope this won't change when I'll get married, even if it has to break up the relationship. At some time, she has to know a little bit about data leaks, mass control by the GAFAM, ACAB, open source, linux, or I don't waste more time with her.
It's also what attracts them, she has to adapt if she wants to be the one ;)

That totally makes sense... I didn't think about that from a dating perspective.

I deliberately don't check my phone though, because you do see couples or groups all out but all on their phones and it seems kinda dodge. So, instead I just sit there as awkwardly as possible...

oooh thanks for two awesome questions! Yeah I think we will definitely end up talking about phones while at restaurants and things like that too. It's easy to get sucked down the rabit of checking notifications once you start.

It's funny because my partner tends to be the one on his phone a ton. That's another interesting angle we can talk about. :)

It got really bad for my gym buddy in Australia... her husband worked really hard, like super super hard, and so when he wasn't working he liked playing a game on his phone, which also, unfortunately included at the dinner table... even with guests. It was super awks for everyone else, so they needed a mini-intervention too, but it was hard because he kind of felt justified because he did work so much... (which, honestly, shouldn't be a factor).

I'm really impressed that Mary took the criticism with such grace, so much emotional intelligence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02