My dog had puppies | Watch her full, uncensored and kinda graphic birthing

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This video is not for the faint of heart, it is a bit graphic and while it's safe for work, if you are easily impresionable I wouldn´t watch it.

Nine days ago, last friday, my great dane AKA Fiona - yes, like Shrek's girl - decided she would get ahead of her due date and give birth to nine crossbreed puppies. She got pregnant by Denzel, my Belgian Shepherd and she was supposed to give birth around October 5 but hell, I guess you can't put a pin on a date when it comes to dogs - or births in general I guess.

I had never attended - or better yet, assisted - a puppy birthing but I knew I had to be there not only because I wanted to witness it but also because I wanted to make sure everything went well and how it is supposed to go. I read, researched a bit and asked my vet friends to be at least a bit prepared for it and know what to expect and how to deal with it.

The video itself

Out of 45 minutes of footage I managed to bring it down to 12 minutes of interesting clips from the first puppy being born to Fiona taking care of her newly formed full family.

We set up a nice nest for her in the garage below our carpenter's table but, you know how women are (just kidding), she decided she didn't like it and decided to start digging holes in the garden and set up store in the middle of it next to a spider colony. Well, it's her choice, it's a pity she decided to start the birthing at almost 10 pm.

It's gonna be a hell of a long night I guess.

After the third baby and 2 hours assisting, me and my father conviced (actually we coerced her by taking her babies away and bring them to the nest inside the garage) Fiona to take the birthing inside, that's why there's a change of scenery after a few minutes of recording.

While not being the most perfectly recorded video since it was my first time assisting a birthing and actually recording parts of it, I think this is a pretty good vid regarding the topic.

I really hope you like it.

There's nine of them and I'm only planning on keeping one, so if you want a puppy please let me know, I'll make sure to send it via steem-mail-services :P


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh man... even thoug I am a huge dog lover and have had a few dogs myself, I just I realized I haven´t seen anything like this yet. Nothing for the faint of heart but really worth watching. Very special thing. Thanks for sharing it with us. And kuddos to Fiona, she was amazing.

I would love one, unfortunately I'm not sure the poor thing should travel to the other side of the world XD

Ahhhh that's a decent sized litter. I remember watching my cat giving birth to three kittens, she at least used the nest I made for her XD (it was a towel in a crdboard box) LoL right in the centre of a spider colony ack x_x

Yay babies :D

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I am in love what a good mum and do relaxed I wouldn’t have been able to video it. Really so precious. Hope the family is doing alright and they are sleeping through the night hahahah

Oh and I would change one tag to #dogsofsteemit because she just is !

Britt

OMG watched this with open mouth! Never seen anything like it. Halfway where one puppy stays in the Placenta for a while I really kept my breath but it all worked out. And all the eating of those placentas and cleaning! So much work! Totally crazy. Congratz on all the healthy pups and thanks for sharing this epic video <3

Posted using Partiko iOS

That was such a stressful time for me because I knew I couldn't just pull it out from her, risking hurting her or the puppy and it stoof there for soooo long :O
Yeah, she ended up tired as hell, and actually the placenta is ok, but not the red/green thingy that serves as waste bag, those I tried taking them away from her because I read it's bad for her :(

Dude!

That's a video you don't see every day. I'm a real pussy for blood and guts but had to watch it all.

I like that you were nudging mum to lick the baby and not eat the afterbirth - she looked more than tired in the end. How many was it? 8/9?

Edit - read the post - 9 it is! Loved it, even though I don't think i could eat another blood sausage, ever :)

I was on the line between posting it or not because it's a pretty "private" moment even if it's just my dog but on the other hand I thought it's something you don't see on the Blockchain every day so it's worth posting it.

9 monsters! Man, I wish I could keep them all but can you imagine the money I'd need weekly to feed these little dragons? No way in hell hahaha

Awww what cute little baby puppies. Their little puppy squeaks are so adorable.
Great job Fiona!❤️

I know right, those squeaks have been my daily lullaby cause I moved rooms to be right next to the garage and be on ear's shot in case something happens (like the momma stepping on one or a puppy escaping the pen etc).

Cute..thanks for share your memories

Posted using Partiko Android

OOh my word!! The one at 4 minute really got me worried there!! I'm not an dog lover at all, but this was a lovely video

What do you mean you're not a dog lover :O :O :O Are you an alien?

I hope you find very good homes for the puppies - truely a miracle

I hope so too! That's exactly what has me the most worried, finding a good home for them.

That is why neutering and spading is better - no worries then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11