LATVIAN CHOCOLATE HAZELNUT CAKE - VIDEO

in #dtube7 years ago


This Chocolate Hazelnut Meringue Cake is so traditional in Latvia. We call it Cielavina. It really is a show stopped at any dinner table or party. I cannot think of any occasions, where you wouldn’t serve this lavish cake with delicate hazelnut meringue and rich chocolate cream. Called “Cielaviņa” (“Wagtail”) in Latvia, it has been one of the most popular cakes on offer since 1970-ies. It has layers of hazelnut meringue with chocolate cream in between. This cake is one of the best ones, and I remember having it for birthdays and other celebrations. It is quite easy to make and all the flavours go so well together. If you like meringue then this cake is for you, it is very different to the standard meringue cakes you have tried, so give it a go!

Ingredients

For the meringues
400 gr sugar
6 egg whites
2 tbsp cornstarch or potato starch
200 gr hazelnuts
pinch of salt

For the Chocolate Cream
6 egg yolks
4tbsp of sugar
40 g water
300 g softened butter
4 tbsp of cocoa
150 g condensed milk
50 ml rum/ cognac or brandy ( optional)

Decoration
100 g dark chocolate
50 ml double cream
50–100 g hazelnuts



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You just hit the point
> This Chocolate Hazelnut Meringue Cake is so traditional in Latvia.
> I cannot think of any occasions, where you wouldn’t serve this lavish cake with delicate hazelnut meringue and rich chocolate cream.

Loved this, fellow Latvian!!! This used to be a must have whenever I went back to Latvia, unfortunately have to skip it now since I'm on a vegan diet! Looks amazing though :)

Your description just made the Cielavina more appetizing

But you have to come and prepare it for me.
I may not be able to combine the above appropriately

Will you be generous enough with the preparations?

That is such a wonderful cake, anything with chocolate/cocoa especially the dark chocolate is simply the best :)

I see and read your post extraordinarily and thank you for sharing

I see and read your post extraordinarily and thank you for sharing

When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Oh..my...goodness! Can i borrow you from your boyfriend for a week? Hahahahaha.

Oh my. You know just how to push all my buttons right? I love hazelnuts with chocolate, caramel , cream anything really. The cake looks so good I am salivating like you would not believe. Mmmmmmm Mm.

Thank you for sharing and I have to say your recipes are always a joy to watch and very easy to follow.

I don’t know much about Latvia but o know plenty about cake and I like this 🍰 , yuuuuuumy

Yummy..... Some of your ingredients are traditional to your place , I don't know where I can get them here in Nigeria 🇳🇬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46