DTUBE - Why Your Accountability Group Is So Important - I've Been In Mine For 13 Years!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hey Everyone,
Do you know what an Accountability Group is, and why it's so important to your success?

I've been lucky that I've had my group for the last 13 years, holding me accountable to the things I say I'm going to do. Without them, I know I wouldn't have done or achieved half of the things that I've been able to experience.

In this video I cover what the group is and more importantly, how to find one on @dtube. Thanks to @kevinli for the video challenge!!

Thanks for watching as always.

The Adventurous Soul
Always Original Content on DTUBE

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@adventuroussoul

Previous Videos:

Believing Your Own Bullsh%$t and How To Avoid It
https://steemit.com/dtube/@adventuroussoul/u2jvf0vz

How To Avoid The Loneliness Of Being A Creator.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@adventuroussoul/u3k59s7m


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Inside circle level of knowledge right there.

Hell yeah. That's a good idea. I need to find a creative Melbourne group to hold me accountable.

wonderful and impressive dtube video..@adventuroussoul...
I enjoy your dtube video

I've been thinking about this over the past couple of days. My output, or the quality of my output seems to go in cycles and are dependent upon all sorts of external influences, but the biggest influence is mood. Here's an example - I have a guitar instruction book that I've worked through maybe five or six times, and each time I've 'run out of steam' at a different point. So I've tried coming up with strategies to get me over those humps, and none of them have worked; things like keeping a progress diary, or setting a particular time to practice each day. I begin with gusto, then it just peters out. I haven't heard of an accountability group before, but as I was walking today I was thinking about posting maybe a weekly progress blog on the blockchain, or a video - something along those lines. But if nobody is watching or commenting, I feel like it will just peter out again. I know myself well enough now to feel confident that that is what will happen.

Anyway, just a few thoughts. It's the universe helping me out again, seeing your video at the right moment ! Thank you!

@camuel Buddy, glad to hear you continue to push forward. The only suggestion I have is ensure you have a consequence for not completing your goal. People often avoid pain rather than drive for pleasure. If the consequence of stopping outweighs the benefit of stopping, you normally keep pushing. My weight loss goal was achieved because if I didn’t do it I had to dress up for my birthday party in a public pub as my alter ego “Rodrina”. This included dress, wig, makeup and high heels all chosen by my accountability group.
Setting a goal is important, setting the consequence of non achievement is just as important. It helps remove the “gonna do it” syndrome. And it’s more fun :)

Ooh, consequences, huh? I guess that's where having an actual group can really help to reach goals. I never thought of that. I wonder if I could use the DDaily group for that? Hmmm. Just thinking out loud. I really need to start working on a strategy and mapping things out with goals etc. You're inspiring me to start thinking that way.

Funny enough mate just uploading a consequence video right now as a follow up :) yes DDaily would be perfect

You are always an inspiration! The fact that you were in your group for 13 years is incredible! 😳

What did you study if I may ask?

Winny out...for now 😉

Thanks buddy. I studied a Bachalor in Human Movement and Sports Science. It was a hell of a lot of fun !!

Oh wow! No wonder you are a great leader mate 😊

Winny out...for now 😉

I think that people make better choices and perform at a higher level when they know they are being watched by others. Thanks for this video!

Dude,

I really love the colours in this video - very pastel. The pastel pink of your shirt up agains't the pastel blues of the sky and water, with a hint of green grass. Very happy colours :)

I have an accountability group too and have made some very genuine friends over the years.

Great info and thanks

Good to hear, my group are also very close friends :)

Very helpful video for me and you explained very well.

Interesting! So how did you find yours? Do you share the same interests?

My major is with the Entrepreneurs Organisation, I also have a close group on Dtube and also a global forum. They all have different interests except of course for helping each other out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53