$1,000,000 payout on a post with 256 beneficiaries?

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Good day all

It's Christmas Eve, I hope you are all enjoying your holidays.

In this vlog, I talk about a couple of numbers that I think are interesting going forward.

The Steemit post engine currently has a 'max_post_payout' set to 1000000 - this is the limit set (in SBD's?) on all our posts submitted from Steemit to the Steem Blockchain.

There is also an 8 account limit to beneficiaries, but scope for up to 256 beneficiaries (accounts that can share the payout from a post).

To me, these are incredible numbers and potentially give clues as to what the Steem Blockchain developers see in the future.

So i ask, could you ever see a post reaching 1 million, paid out to 256 people?!

Cheers

Asher @abh12345


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I want to be part of that post. Me and you. Let do this :-)

The natural light is such an awesome think to have this time of year for video. Keep these coming.... I will keep watching

Thank you Paula!

Merry Christmas to you and all 😁

Arguments for reaching the million payout:

  1. We're only at 100K daily active users, and I believe Facebook has something like 2 billion. The scope for growth seems enormous.
  2. There seem to be more lifestyle vloggers who are good at self marketing coming to the post - winds me up, but they will make money.
  3. If people just listened to Jerry Banfield about the potential to make a killling on this site, then we'd see a massive influx, which in turn would boost the rewards pool.

Arguments against...

  1. The sign-up attrition rate is atrocious. People just don't get it
  2. The skewed rewards distribution and too many crap posts getting rewarded is insulting. This may put people off.
  3. Dare I say the biggest risk: if people come to their senses then posts might start to be rewarded on their 'use value' rather than their 'exchange value'.

Glad I stumbled across you btw (I clicked on your link as you're the bottom ranked beneficiary from steemfollower referrals!)

Your posts seem pretty good btw.

Cheers, from a non, but possibly soon to be expat Brit.

Haha, well Steemfollower has served me well at last!

Thanks for the kind words and effort in your response, that's worth a follow on it's own.

I agree with your points, particularly the poor sign up attrition. There are many possible reasons as to why, but I'd say the main one is frustration and lack of patience.

Unless you invest heavily, you have to start at the bottom. The 'grind' is real, but baby steps and I suggest a year of posting and commenting most days, and things will slowly fall into place.

Always good to hear from someone looking to escape the UK!

Cheers!

I know about the grind - I've spent the last three years building up my wordpress blog revisesociology.com- it now earns me just about enough to quite my job - the problem being that I haven't been able to find the time to post stuff on here -

But you're right, now it's time to build. I must say I find it slightly odd (I need to do the exact calculation) that I can probably earn something like $200 a month just through bots, steemfollower and upvoting myself? If I do churn post 1-2 times day. Hard to resist that and focus on integrity.

This does make me wonder whether this whole platform is overvalued?

So you have plenty of content that could be re-worked for Steemit. Just need to watch out for cheetah :)

The amount of crypto slushing around here at present is pretty insane, you can cover your bills with curation rewards and a few thousand Steem Power. Now is certainly the time to work on content.

Overvalued? Possibly. I'm inclined to think the other way with what's on the horizon though. If a big player adopts Smart Media Tokens using this Blockchain, the sky is the limit - I'm sticking around to find out for sure!

Me too - Got some limit buys on some more steem ' just waiting for a good price!

Good stuff!

Well Steem looks to be holding $3, so if SBDs can make a charge for $14s again, those holding them here can trade for Steem at an excellent rate. 3 for 1 is nice, it was 6 Steem to 1 SBD a few weeks ago - very nice!

Is it 1,000,000 USD or 1,000,000 SBD...?

I don’t think we will ever see a post hit 1,000,000 SBD payout but USD? Perhaps!

The ability to divide up the rewards to over 250 people is pretty awesome, it would be cool if there was no limit. Then theoretically someone would be able to create an account that would make every single user a beneficiary to all posts... would be a fun experiment

In the DB its 1000000. Internally, 1,000,000 SBD is $1 - Bit higher than that on the exchanges!

256 is the limit as mentioned in the link, and by @sneak (i think!) At Steemfest during the talk with the Devs. That's still a lot of people!

Thanks for your comments man, at least someone is listening! :D

Just a bit higher ;)

But yeah, that’s so true 1,000,000 SBD = 1,000,000 USD worth of STEEM internally so therefore the max payout is 1,000,000 SBD.. Someone can take that and sell it on an external market for millions and millions more!

Oh..womenfolk don't listen to those stuff usually..but i have read that ridiculous 1M max payout eons ago. So far, the highest ive seen was 17k..a fundraising post last year.
U can always include me as one of the beneficiaries if ever u get 1M. Common u can do it!

Well, with or without (good) reason, yesterday I saw a post of someone (raping the reward pool) who already tried to break that record.

hahaha, i think i know who you mean!

If crypto goes bonkers again next year with Steem at $10, I think he will do it!

And with that value I'm affraid he won't be the only one ...

Yeah, it's interesting to watch. I think there will become a point where more whales say enough is enough.

At least its original content, i see plenty around which isn't, and is taking $10000+ weekly at present.

there you have a point as well.

better question... what would you do if you had all that money? :)

Spend it on all you guys of course! 😁

I like that answer! :)

Those are some mind blowing numbers...I'm still giddy when I get a few bucks // hap Xmas eve !

Every little helps! Merry Christmas to you!

This might be possible if steem hit $20
Then i know you might even have a share.lol.
Merry Christmas @abh12345

That sounds great where do I sign?!
Merry Christmas!

Happy to see your vlog, @jeanwandimi would love to see this.

Ahh yes, well mine are not up to Jeans standard yet!

But at least you've started. I love the possibility of getting such a high number of payout shared by not so many people.

that would be insane! merry christmas!

Insane but technically possible it seems!

Very interesting question. It seems to me that for now, it's like a fantasy. Even 100,000 sounds cosmically.
Good luck to you and good.

Очень интересный вопрос. Мне кажется, что пока что, это похоже на фантастику. Даже 100000 звучит космически.
Удачи Вам и добра.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44