Putting Steem.City On Hold

in #steemit7 years ago

After around 2 months of development, I decided to put steem.city on hold. There are a few reasons for that, but the most important one is something that I learned just a couple of weeks ago, after I read Steemit SMT Whitepaper. Let's take them one at a time.

  • lack of time: I have a day job and time is scarce. Between regular updates to steem.supply, regular posting here and trying to have a life, it was difficult to squeeze in some time for this project
  • inconsistent backend: when I started steem.supply, I also started to pack together a few PHP scripts which eventually became the PHP Steem Tools. This codebase is still very fragile and I have to work more at this layer, until it's stable enough to be used in other projects
  • the most important reason: after reading Steemit SMT Whitepaper, I learned that the split_beneficiaries feature of the Steem blockchain, on which I was basing the entire project, is currently limited to only 8 persons. I was working on the assumption (never confirmed, but never invalidated, either) that this feature allows up to 256 beneficiaries. The architecture of the "neighborhoods" was actually based on this feature (all the rewards had to be split directly between the members of a community). So having a neighborhood with only 8 potential members kinda defeats the purpose of the entire project.

For now, I will be focusing on maintaining steem.supply and on making PHP Steem Tools stable enough for production.

A big "thank you" too all of you who helped me during alpha testing, you rock, guys!

P.S. If and when the split_beneficiaries feature of the Steem blockchain will be modified in future hardforks, or if there's an easier workaround for this, I will restart the project. By that time, hopefully, with a more stable backend.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

There may be a clumsy workaround.
One of the 8 accounts is a bot that distributes rewards automatically to members of a community. Only downside is that SP cannot be distributed easily and immediately.

Way too complicated. It must be instant.

I'm not sure why it's limited to 8. I wish it was a lot more. Maybe @ned could think about having this updated in the next update.

it says something about plans to increase it to 256, but no timeframe is given.

There only so many hours in a day and you can only do so much. Thank you for all the effort you've put in already to make Steemit better and the tools you've built.

Thank you for the nice words, appreciate it!

steem.supply is still the best steemit tool plus steemnow

I'm glad you have a life...haha🤖

If I wanted to set up my own tool what coding would I need to learn? Wanting to help out more on steemit but dont know where to start.

There are good libraries in JavaScript and Python and I work on a similar one in PHP. It depends really on which of these languages you are more comfortable.

Well im starting at square one so any suggestions on which one and resources to help teach me would be awesome.

Maybe now you can focus on adding new features to steem.supply (like curation rewards) and making it more realiable.

That's the plan, anyway :)

great post.i like and upvoted.

Thanks for sharing! Hope you enjoy!

you are working round the clock inspiration for all !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67